Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky Router set up

    This is a discussion on Sky Router set up within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I have just received my sky router. im a bit of a numpty with this kind of thing and ...

    1. #1
      collinsc's Avatar
      collinsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Router set up

      Hi

      I have just received my sky router. im a bit of a numpty with this kind of thing and looking for some help!

      My phone socket is in the kitchen (nothing attached to the socket), a wire is coming out the back - i assume to my phone in the living room.

      How do i connect my router? Am i able to just use the cable from the phone?

      the splitter has 2 inputs sockets at the back. i dont have a cable with the same format to input into it!?

      i have a laptop with wireless capabilities i want to connect to it wirelessely

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      You need to put one of the Sky supplied ADSL filters in the socket first (sky send 3) then you will have 2 holes, one for the phone and one for the cable that came with the router (grey).

      Put another filter in the other socket in the front room also, and connect the phone in there into that, the router side can be left emptyif that's not where you are fitting the router.

    4. #3
      collinsc's Avatar
      collinsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      thanks kindly

    5. #4
      collinsc's Avatar
      collinsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      thanks. still not sure what plugs into the left hand side of the ADSL filter though - surely something must do...

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      The small port is for the router and the longer one a phone. You don't have to have anything in these unless you need to. It is fine just to have one or the other connected.

      All phone sockets in use MUST have an ADSL filter in them before anything else.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      Your router plugs into 1 port and you can use the other normal phone port to connect a phone, Sky digibox etc.

      Just make sure you plug the filter into the wall first, then any phones or splitters you want to use. Everything that is plugged into the phone sockets must have a filter, not just the one where you are plugging in the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      collinsc's Avatar
      collinsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      thanks guys, i'll give it a go tonight

    9. #8
      collinsc's Avatar
      collinsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      thanks for all advice - i have now successfully connected, however the CD tht some with it says i havent...! will this matter?

      cheers

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      No, you don't need the CD it's just handy to keep your coffee on.

    11. #10
      collinsc's Avatar
      collinsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router set up

      cheers

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION