Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

    This is a discussion on Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Thread title pretty much says it all really. Router was fine for the first few months i had it, then ...

    1. #1
      Hoodlum's Avatar
      Hoodlum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      Thread title pretty much says it all really. Router was fine for the first few months i had it, then periodically would connect at a low speed. A swift reboot of the router would usually sort it out, but now nothing i do can get it to connect the downstream at anything greater than 764kbps.

      I'm on the unlimited package for information, if anyone can shed any light it'd be much appreciated.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,366
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      connect to the test socket, details in link below and post your stats.
      Connected at 17Mbps on sky unlimited


      Test Socket - TCPOptimiser - Kana Form

    4. #3
      Hoodlum's Avatar
      Hoodlum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      Ok, now connected to test socket, results are the same:

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 606 kbps

      Cheers

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,366
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      Quote Originally Posted by Hoodlum View Post
      Ok, now connected to test socket, results are the same:

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 606 kbps

      Cheers
      I need the attenuation, SNR figures etc. They look like these.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12363 kbps 1184 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 18.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.75 db 8.5 db
      Connected at 17Mbps on sky unlimited


      Test Socket - TCPOptimiser - Kana Form

    6. #5
      Hoodlum's Avatar
      Hoodlum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      Ah ok, my bad, here they are

      Connection Speed 764 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 31 db 21 db

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      Looks like you've been heavily capped, possibly due to some problem with your internal wiring. Can you repost the stats but this time connected as you would normally have it, ie, not via the test socket.

    8. #7
      Hoodlum's Avatar
      Hoodlum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      Ok, here's the stats from the normal socket

      Connection Speed 764 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41 db 22 db
      Noise Margin 31 db 14 db

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      Check the broadband details on your MySky page, see if your line is in training. If it is not phone Sky and ask them to trouble shoot your line for speed. Change your filter and be plugged into the Test socket when you do so, it will save time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Hoodlum's Avatar
      Hoodlum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      Ok will do, thanks for the help, much appreciated

    11. #10
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,366
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router will only connect downstream at 764 kbps

      you should get a filtered faceplate, to get test socket results without been in the test socket.
      Connected at 17Mbps on sky unlimited


      Test Socket - TCPOptimiser - Kana Form

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION