Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Sky Replacement Modem

    This is a discussion on Sky Replacement Modem within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there, I have moved my internet over from Virgin cable to Sky Max. I used to use my Linksys ...

    1. #1
      dr_sherman's Avatar
      dr_sherman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Replacement Modem

      Hi there,

      I have moved my internet over from Virgin cable to Sky Max. I used to use my Linksys router (running WRT firmware) which I am keen to use with Sky. I am aware of the need to extract the ADSL password and the all the related risks....

      Can anybody recommend a good ADSL modem with ethernet out so I can hook it up to my existing router....

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Replacement Modem

      All the Sky routers have ethernet out on four ports, no reason why you should not use one of these.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dr_sherman's Avatar
      dr_sherman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Replacement Modem

      There are hundreds of reasons:
      • The Sky router only offers basic port forward functionality
      • Can't add static LAN IP's
      • Can't filter certain types of traffic


      So thanks for the comment but not really useful...

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Replacement Modem

      The Sky router only offers basic port forward functionality
      Can't add static LAN IP's
      Can't filter certain types of traffic
      I am not sure what extra functionality you want for port forwarding, everyone else seems to manage.

      You can certainly add static LAN IPs, by using the Address Reservation function.

      QoS is one of the failings of the Sky routers, but you can block sites by keyword or domain.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION