Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

    This is a discussion on I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I just received a "Phase 2 A Grade Router" - Sagem F@ST 2504 from Sky today to replace my ...

    1. #1
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maida Vale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB x 3
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      West Hampstead
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      Hi I just received a "Phase 2 A Grade Router" - Sagem F@ST 2504 from Sky today to replace my Sky V1 Netgear DG834GT because the wiring for the Power Supply is badly damaged!!

      But there is something strange going on with this router, e.g. my previous Line Attenuation on Netgear DG834GT was either 30.5 (every night) or 31db (all day) but now with Sagem F@ST 2504 its moved to 32 db, even now its still 32 db as shown below.

      Router Statistics


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 17.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.7 db 14.0 db

      Also, the Firmware Version is 1.5Sky, I got the feeling that its very old FW, I'm guessing that its upgraded to 1.9Sky, according to Skyuser Forums. Am I right?

      And now, I just checked Broadband section on My Sky profile, it says as follows:

      Your Sky Broadband & Speed Estimate

      You have Sky Broadband Unlimited which offers a maximum download speed of up to 20Mb

      The estimate provided to you at purchase for the maximum download speed your line can support was 10-20Mb.

      Your Connection Details

      Check back here for updates.

      Line testing is not currently in progress.

      We continually look at ways to improve the quality of your broadband connection.

      To be honest with you, I prefer to my previous Sky V1 Netgear DG834GT because I can get 108 Mbps wireless connection after I have set it to 108 Mbps Mode after done a lot of researching on the internet and get detailed stats as well using Mel's Notes: Dg834gt-1skuk

      Can I get 108 Mbps wireless connection on Sagem F@ST 2504 or I have to get used to with only 54 Mbps wireless connection?
      Last edited by jonathanen; 17-07-09 at 01:27 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      Also, the Firmware Version is 1.5Sky, I got the feeling that its very old FW, I'm guessing that its upgraded to 1.9Sky, according to Skyuser Forums. Am I right?
      The current one is 1.9Sky and there was a method of kicking the update off, although users are reporting that this is not working, leaving me with the conclusion that Sky have turned their update servers off.

      Can I get 108 Mbps wireless connection on Sagem F@ST 2504 or I have to get used to with only 54 Mbps wireless connection?
      No. The Sagem is only 54Mbps wireless.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      To be fair, the Sagem was stable on 1.5Sky and 1.9Sky - I believe the new Sagem FW (to come eventually) has addressed the VPN issues from what I have read. Certainly better than the DG834GT and the original FW




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maida Vale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB x 3
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      West Hampstead
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      The current one is 1.9Sky and there was a method of kicking the update off, although users are reporting that this is not working, leaving me with the conclusion that Sky have turned their update servers off.

      No. The Sagem is only 54Mbps wireless.
      Damn! Now, I wish Sky just give me a replacement power Supply for my white Netgear Router or another White V1 Netgear Router instead of Sagem Router. But on the bright side, at least I have now find out the differences between the two the HARD way.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      I probably have a spare one somewhere if you want it? No promises but I think I may still have it.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maida Vale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB x 3
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      West Hampstead
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I probably have a spare one somewhere if you want it? No promises but I think I may still have it.
      Oh yes, please! But, what if you need it for backup, just in case the Sagem breaks down, you never know. Also, does it work still on my end, when I'm using your router? Because I think I need to call Sky first for the MAC Code, like they did to me when replacing from my previous White V1 Netgear Router to Sagem Router.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      I have a Netgear DG834GT, 2 Netgear DG934G's and a Sagem F@ST 2504 the last time I counted.

      Where they all are though is the issue. I will have a look over the weekend.

      PS - I would only send you the PSU (providing I can find it) so that you could use your own white router.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maida Vale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB x 3
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      West Hampstead
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      To be fair, the Sagem was stable on 1.5Sky and 1.9Sky - I believe the new Sagem FW (to come eventually) has addressed the VPN issues from what I have read. Certainly better than the DG834GT and the original FW
      Is that mean the V1 Netgear was unstable even with the latest FW upgraded / installed for the White Netgear Router.

      If you're saying Sagem is stable mostly, that means the most accurate figure for my Line Attenuation is 32 db!! Not 30.5 or 31db then unless its something to do with my OLD fashioned style wiring full of corrosion, non-NTE5 Socket, old brown Junction box, corrosion drop wire etc or maybe I'm wrong.

      Ooh! What Line Quality means, I'm bit confused. Does it mean the current state of the phone line wiring - both external drop wire and interior wiring from junction box to Master socket & what type of Phone socket it currently using e.g. NTE5 or non-NTE5, etc.

      Or does it means only the noise level, at the moment, its currently set-up exactly the same as my Final ADSL Plan A except my bedroom & living room has been upgraded to Sky+ HD boxes.

    10. #9
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maida Vale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB x 3
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      West Hampstead
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      PS - I would only send you the PSU (providing I can find it) so that you could use your own white router.
      No point because Sky wants me to post my old White Netgear Router with the faulty PSU back to them using their Freepost option. Thanks for trying though, I'm really appreciate it.
      Last edited by jonathanen; 17-07-09 at 02:11 AM. Reason: fixed quote

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I just received Sagem F@ST 2504 Router from Sky today

      I wouldn't bother. Once you get the PSU ring them and tell them and then send the Sagem back, problem sorted.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION