Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sagem - Blocking Access

    This is a discussion on Sagem - Blocking Access within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey there, ive set up my sagem router, but im trying to figure out if theres neway to disable the ...

    1. #1
      lewisrichard's Avatar
      lewisrichard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem - Blocking Access

      Hey there,
      ive set up my sagem router, but im trying to figure out if theres neway to disable the internet while im out at night at work, i have house mates which are starting to download so much stuff while im away. and i would like to be able to stop the router from connecting, but still leaving the router on so they dont realise im restricting their access.
      any ideas?

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      saltyzip's Avatar
      saltyzip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtown Llantwit
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem - Blocking Access

      Some routers allow you to restrict session and or bandwidth limit, not sure if the Sky supplied one has this feature, probably not.

    4. #3
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem - Blocking Access

      Just take the router with you

    5. #4
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem - Blocking Access

      Quote Originally Posted by lewisrichard View Post
      Hey there,
      ive set up my sagem router, but im trying to figure out if theres neway to disable the internet while im out at night at work, i have house mates which are starting to download so much stuff while im away. and i would like to be able to stop the router from connecting, but still leaving the router on so they dont realise im restricting their access.
      any ideas?

      thanks
      Under Security you could block the domains they are using for downloading from.
      "Block Sites Help

      If you want to limit access to certain sites on the Internet, you need to set up content filtering. There are two ways to filter content:

      * blocking access to certain domains (for example, pornoXXXsiteXXX.com) or
      * blocking sites that contains certain words (like profanity or explicit sexual material).

      When users try to access a blocked site, the page will not be displayed and they may see the message “Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage”.
      To Enable Block Sites:

      * Click Per Schedule to turn on Block Sites and block according to the settings on the Schedule page.

      * Click Always to turn on Block Sites to allow blocking all of the time, independent of the Schedule page.

      Note: On the Schedule page you can set when keyword and domain name blocking occurs."

      Also under Schedule you could also
      "Block Sites Help

      If you want to limit access to certain sites on the Internet, you need to set up content filtering. There are two ways to filter content:

      * blocking access to certain domains (for example, pornoXXXsiteXXX.com) or
      * blocking sites that contains certain words (like profanity or explicit sexual material).

      When users try to access a blocked site, the page will not be displayed and they may see the message “Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage”.
      To Enable Block Sites:

      * Click Per Schedule to turn on Block Sites and block according to the settings on the Schedule page.

      * Click Always to turn on Block Sites to allow blocking all of the time, independent of the Schedule page.

      Note: On the Schedule page you can set when keyword and domain name blocking occurs.

      So yes it can be done. If you are the one who is the account holder and pays the bill, Just take the router with you. Sod them...

    6. #5
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sagem - Blocking Access

      to be honest, if your flatmates are technically minded at all, they will reset the router via the reset button on the back of the router as soon as they discover they cannot get online. This will wipe all manual changes you have made to the router, and then allow them to connect again.

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem - Blocking Access

      This true! thats why the OP should take router with him.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sagem - Blocking Access

      Upgrade to Max/Unlimited and charge them the extra, then they can do what they want.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION