Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Help! Unable to Access Router - Now solved

    This is a discussion on Help! Unable to Access Router - Now solved within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All. Just got my router out of it's box and trying to install. I'm not yet activated but have ...

    1. #1
      wicket's Avatar
      wicket is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help! Unable to Access Router - Now solved

      Hi All.

      Just got my router out of it's box and trying to install. I'm not yet activated but have broadband through another provider for now.

      I thought I would test the router etc and check it's settings as you do.

      I've installed the disk - up to checking line and then cancelled.

      I've got a network connection but when I try and access the router using 192.168.0.1 I get the equivelant of an access denied - it seems it can't access the web pages for the router.

      ANy ideas? Is there some software/driver I should install to get this router working before I get connected?

      Help - please

      Thanks

      Wicket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy_G's Avatar
      Andy_G is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAROC
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Rochford
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No you dont need drivers, as long as it's plugged in correctly you should be able to access it.
      Do you get this screen come up?
      login admin
      password sky
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Help! Unable to Access Router - Now solved-login.jpg  

    4. #3
      wicket's Avatar
      wicket is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I've got it plugged in and in network connections it shows up correctly. and shows it as 192.168.0.1

      Each time I try and access it though It won't come up with the admin screen.

      my browser just comes up with
      Unable to connect

      Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.0.1.
      - same with IE

      Stuck!!!!

    5. #4
      skalpel's Avatar
      skalpel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Are you sure your old provider haven't given you an IP address outside of that range? Two checks you can try - open a DOS box (start>run>type "cmd" without the quotes and hit return) and then try "ipconfig /all" and "arp -a" - if your IP address is set to something that doesn't begin with 192.168.0, then that'll be the problem. Try typing "ipconfig /release" and "ipconfig /renew" to drop your current IP and pick up a new one. If it is in that range, the output of the arp -a command will show you all of the machines in your network (well, within your collision domain, but let's not worry about that) - if 192.168.0.1 is not listed then try a different port in the router and try again. If it still doesn't work it's either a cabling problem, bad ethernet card, or bad router (in order of difficulty/expense to replace).

    6. #5
      wicket's Avatar
      wicket is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for all the help.

      Still no joy. This is what I get after doing as you suggested with ipconfig...

      Help! Unable to Access Router - Now solved-ipconfig.jpg

      Tried using 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2

      Is the bluetooth a problem??

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      the bluetooth has the same ip as the router, can you unplug or uninstall the bluetooth just to check?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      wicket's Avatar
      wicket is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yep..

      Just done that...guess what!!! it works!

      Now...what are my chances of getting the router to work with my current ISP whilst I wait for my activation date!

      And....

      THANK YOU very much for all the help peeps!
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 26-09-06 at 11:19 PM. Reason: merged the 2 posts

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Now...what are my chances of getting the router to work with my current ISP whilst I wait for my activation date!
      cant help you on that one

      Glad its sorted!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION