Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

    This is a discussion on Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04 within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have finally got the Sagem F@st 2504 Sky Router to work with Nortel Contivity VPN Client (Ver 04). It ...

    1. #1
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Exclamation Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      I have finally got the Sagem F@st 2504 Sky Router to work with Nortel Contivity VPN Client (Ver 04).

      It involved;

      Flashing the router with the Sagem firmware and Triggering port 500. Interestingly, opening up port 500 using the Sky V1.1 / 1.5 / 1.9 firmwares do not make the VPN work! Nor, did the registry fix “DisableIkePort500Use” as detailed in thread;

      Sagem router and VPN

      It sounds easy then!!?? It does need to be done though with care when starting to mess about with the routers firmware or else you can kill it!

      So with the usual “health” warnings about not doing this unless you understand what your doing and that you understand the Sky T&C’s about using non-Sky firmware, this is what I did;

      Before starting make sure you have;

      a) The routers username and password by going to;
      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

      b) Firmware File, Sagem F@st 2404 3.18a4 from;
      http://www.delweddau.com/images/F240...h_image_NONE.w

      c) Firmware File, Sagem F@st 2404 3.24a4 from and then unzip it;
      http://lgsagem.free.fr/Telechargemen...4a4/3_24a4.zip


      Procedure I followed;

      1) Use the thread below to update to the Sagem firmware NOTING to stop at step 6;

      Restoring the Sagem router after it's been flashed

      2) Once the router has rebooted, navigate to http://192.168.1.1/ with the username admin and password admin - note the changed password. You should see the standard Sagem F@ST2404 user interface.

      3) Click on Management then Update Software. Browse to your Sagem F@st 2404 3.24a4 file that you download above and click on the Update Software button.

      4) Once the router has rebooted, navigate to http://192.168.1.1/ with the username admin and password admin. You should see the standard Sagem F@ST2404 user interface and note version 3.24a4

      5) Click on NAT then Port Triggering and then ADD.

      6) Tick Custom Application and enter a name of your choice

      7) Then enter 500 across “one” row setting both pull down boxes to “UDP” ending up with;

      Trigger Port Start=500
      Trigger Port End=500
      Trigger Protocol=UDP
      Open Port Start=500
      Open Port End=500
      Open Protocol=UDP

      8) Now click Save/Apply

      9) Click on Advanced Setup then WAN and then ADD.

      10) You now enter the settings for your Sky Internet Connection as below

      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38
      Service Category: UBR without PCR
      Enable Quality of Service: unticked
      Connection type: PPP over ATM
      Encapsulation Mode: VC/MUX
      PPP Username: YOUR sky router username e.g. 00256900000a@skydsl
      PPP Password: YOUR router pass word
      Authentication Method: AUTO
      Dial on demand: unticked
      PPP IP extension: unticked
      Use Static IP Address: unticked
      Retry PPP password on authentication error: unticked
      Configure PPP MTU: 1500
      Enable PPP Debug Mode: unticked
      Enable NAT: ticked
      Enable Firewall: ticked
      Enable IGMP Multicast: unticked
      Enable WAN Service: ticked
      Service Name: anything you like

      11) Finally, click save.

      12) Now click Wireless and setup your wireless connection

      That’s it, you’re done. Just reboot!

      Note that should you decide to return the router to “as delivered” condition, see thread;

      Restoring the Sagem router after it's been flashed


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Gordon Hose's Avatar
      Gordon Hose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      The link to the firmware file in Step b ("Before starting make sure you have") is broken.

      I've just signed up to Sky and use the Nortel Contivity VPN Client, and I now can't get access to work!! Complete joke really

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      Sky do not allow business use in their T&C's, you may want to have a rethink on using them if you require this.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      This is an old post. Sky have been offering a firmware upgrade for the Sagem to enable VPN for some months now. Just call them and explain you want to use VPN. (Don't mention business use). In fact the new firmware being released currently for the Sagem will probably include the VPN update.

      I now can't get access to work!! Complete joke really
      I think the jokes on you, Sky make it clear in their T & Cs that Sky broadband is for domestic use only and business use is specifically banned.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Gordon Hose's Avatar
      Gordon Hose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think the jokes on you, Sky make it clear in their T & Cs that Sky broadband is for domestic use only and business use is specifically banned.
      Not really, seeing as they now allow VPN access. Makes your point about T&C's a bit pointless

      What is a joke is having my own companies 2nd Line support to tell me to call Sky to get them to update my router. Sky should just put it on the router to start with, rather than make the customer run about trying to find out what needs to be done, then telling the customer they have to wait ANOTHER 2 days before they can get VPN access. I'm going to call them tomorrow to see if I can get the router patch escalated as I need to work.

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      Despite sky supporting VPN, it's very limited. They will send the upgrade to the router and if you still can't access it after that and your ict dept. in work cannot fix it, then it's tough - you signed up to a domestic ISP service. There's no point ringing sky if they've already sent the upgrade e-form through, it cannot be sped up.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      There is a new update to the Sagem's being rolled out which should sort VPN out for everyone. Although Sky do not recognise business users, I think they have quietly acknowledged that people do actually work from home.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Gordon Hose's Avatar
      Gordon Hose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      My issue is with the fact they could have told me about this required update 2 days ago, so I could have placed my request and had the update by now.

      Instead they make their customers stumble across the information themselves, and then make them wait 2 days, with no escalation process.

      Defend Sky all you like, but I'm sorry, it's not good customer service.

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      Personally, I think it's acceptable customer service. In the terms and conditions, it clearly states that sky broadband is not for business/home work use - even with that, sky are accommodating for people essentially breaching the contract.

    11. #10
      Gordon Hose's Avatar
      Gordon Hose is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFAV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem finally working with Nortel Contivity VPN Client Ver 04

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Personally, I think it's acceptable customer service. In the terms and conditions, it clearly states that sky broadband is not for business/home work use - even with that, sky are accommodating for people essentially breaching the contract.
      With the greatest of respect, that's BS

      If they didn't want to support VPN for home working purposes, they wouldn't. SImple. The fact is, they do support VPN access. My IT Dept at work told me they have many people accessing the VPN with Sky as their ISP, only made possible by Sky updating the firmware on their routers. So Sky have essentially agreed to allow VPN access on their network.

      I don't run a business from my flat. My company run their business from their offices in Berkshire, Scotland, Manchester and Birmingham...not my flat.

      Why does it take 48 hours to push an update to a router? I gave them my MAC address as requested...I don't see the problem! They refuse to explain the process involved and fob me off with conflicting information and lies.

      One email I received this afternoon told me to reset my router so they could update it, then an hour later they told me I had to wait 12 hours.

      It's bad customer service, whichever way you look at it

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION