Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    sagem router "piggyback"

    This is a discussion on sagem router "piggyback" within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi all hope you can help me ,i searched for fair while to find out as in an step by ...

    1. #1
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sagem router "piggyback"

      hi all

      hope you can help me ,i searched for fair while to find out as in an step by step how to be able to use an "n seris" router for wireless piggybacked onto my sagem but not found anything im either blind or dum hehe

      (please bear in mind ,i saying this next bit nicly )

      i don't want to hear about hardwire,homeplugs or homplugs with wirless,repeater's etc etc.

      im not sure what router to get yet for the piggyback but is goign to be "n" but how would i go about setting any piggyback up ??,i would of course want go the binning the sagem route but don't fancy risk of an tricking off from sky.



      thank you if you can help me

      nitromad


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sagem router "piggyback"

      There are a few posts i know because I posted to them.
      Basically you would just use an other Ethernet cable from the sagem into the router of choice. You would need to disable the sagem wireless settings and then enable the wireless settings in your router of choice. Probably have to copy wireless settings over to your piggy back router. That way your still within sky T&C
      and get any updates to the sagem sky may send through from time to time.

    4. #3
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sagem router "piggyback"

      hi thanks for reply

      what port would sky plug into on piggyback router ?? also do i like set dhcp on piggyback router for the network to connect to and static to piggyback from sagem ?? or all static ips ??

      thanks again

      nitromad

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sagem router "piggyback"

      You need to turn off the DHCP on the new wireless router. Let the Sky router dish out the IP addresses. I use a second wireless router rather than the wireless on my Sagem.

    6. #5
      nitromad's Avatar
      nitromad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sagem router "piggyback"

      thanks

      do you find the second router wireless range better ???

      thanks
      nitromad

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sagem router "piggyback"

      I use my trusted non sky DG834GT running TeamDG firmware and yes for me at least the wireless is far superior to the Sagem.
      With regards which port to use on the Sagem, any one will do. Just ignore the colours.
      Last edited by joss; 13-06-09 at 10:13 PM. Reason: Grrrrr

    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sagem router "piggyback"

      I'm only running the second router as it sits behind my PC firewall (Endian).

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION