Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sagem Router - wireless unavailable, wired ok.

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router - wireless unavailable, wired ok. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, my friend just signed upto Sky broadband and got the sagem router pack and it has just gone past ...

    1. #1
      davidhardie's Avatar
      davidhardie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem Router - wireless unavailable, wired ok.

      Hi, my friend just signed upto Sky broadband and got the sagem router pack and it has just gone past his activation date to be switched over to Sky.

      I connected things up for him and he is getting Broadband internet through the Cat5 cable but when scanning for available wireless network his SSID is not displayed in the list.

      We can see various other Sky routers being picked up so the wireless is enabled and seems to be working fine on the laptop.

      I connected into the router (192.168.0.1) and checked that the SSID was set to be broadcast which it was and the SSID was the correct one as labelled on the router and on the business card sized info list that they got with the router. Everything matches up.

      The wireless light on the sky sagem router is green.
      The Toshiba laptop is running Windows Vista.
      And I turned the windows firewall off but that didnt make a difference.

      I tried switching security to WEP from WPA-PSK to see if that method wasnt supported by the laptop or vista, but still the same.
      The fact the SSID is not appearing in the wireless list of the laptop is strange.

      I am going to try another laptop(XP) and my own Sagem Router when I go back over tonight to try narrow down the problem.

      But has anybody seen this issue before?
      Is it possible that the brand new router sky sent out is faulty, despite the wireless LED being green?

      Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - wireless unavailable, wired ok.

      What channel is it on and have you tried a new channel?

    4. #3
      davidhardie's Avatar
      davidhardie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - wireless unavailable, wired ok.

      It was set to Auto initially.
      I also tried it on channel 11.

      Should I perhaps try all the channels available or should auto be fine?

      Thanks.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - wireless unavailable, wired ok.

      Auto is not a good choice to be honest, best bet is to put security back to WPA and try channels from highest to lowest and see what changes.

    6. #5
      davidhardie's Avatar
      davidhardie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - wireless unavailable, wired ok.

      Ok cheers, i will give that a try tonight.

      Am I right in saying that Auto is the default when the router is sent out?
      I cant remember having this issue when setting up my sagem wireless router from Sky.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - wireless unavailable, wired ok.

      Auto is only default on one type of router sent out, the rest go out on a set channel.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION