Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Router broken?

    This is a discussion on Router broken? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; It seems like if I download something too fast, or open too many web pages at once, my router just ...

    1. #1
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router broken?

      It seems like if I download something too fast, or open too many web pages at once, my router just gives up and won't reconnect. I leave it a while, and it usually still won't connect, so I reboot it (by turning it off and then on, the reboot button doesn't do anything) and every time I reboot it, a different set of lights come on. Sometimes ethernet port 3, even if nothing's plugged in, or 4 with nothing plugged in, or 3 and 4 if ports 1 and 2 have something connected.

      Sometimes, all 4 ethernet ports light up (only 1 and 2 have cables plugged), as does the internet light (orange/red) but nothing else, no power light, no test light.

      Sometimes, the power and test light will come on, stay like that for about 10 seconds, then the internet light will come on aswell, but then the power and test lights go off and the internet light stays on (orange/red) and nothing else. Then, after a few seconds the power and test light will light up again, and it will keep doing that.

      It's the Sagem F@ST router

      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Router broken?

      That does seem odd. Maybe youve answered your question in the thread title
      Get on the phone to Sky and describe the above. I think they will just send you a new one.


    4. #3
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router broken?

      Okay, I'll ring them tomorrow. They'll send a new one right? I think we've had it over a year

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Router broken?

      Doesnt matter how long youve had it. Their t&c's say you must use their router so if it fails they have to replace it. I've had 2, one was new the other refurb and they both worked fine.


    6. #5
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router broken?

      Great! Just happened again trying to download something via FTP

      Thanks.

    7. #6
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router broken?

      What a joke. It's working atm, but I wanted to ring anyway to get it sorted. The woman wants me to wait until it's broken again, and then ring back, so I have to wait for it to break again, then go through all the trouble of telling them how many phone sockets we have, and what's plugged into them, etc.. even though this was like the 3rd time I've run them up, and told them this stuff every time.

      She completely ignored what I told her, and wouldn't listen unless I answered a specific yes or no answer to her ridiculous questions. Robot?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router broken?

      then just say you only have the power light and all 4 ethernet ports - no matter what happens...

      although the Tier 1 agent is just following protocol - can't blame them...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router broken?

      I rang again and finally got through to someone who could speak good enough English to actually understand them (well, it was Scottish but still :P)

      They sent a new router out. Came today and it works fine

    10. #9
      Rimp's Avatar
      Rimp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01670
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router broken?

      my router does similar. randomly turns off the wireless and the internet but doesnt turn the router off. cant get sense out of the call desk monkeys and have been told that my problem is the microfilters even though that cant turn my wireless off. would only mess with the broadband signal. wireless should be uneffected by noise on the phone line.

      only been with sky broadband sinse 8th of june. and after a week im already fed up with how terribly their service is.

    11. #10
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION