Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky Router + AV system

    This is a discussion on Sky Router + AV system within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I wasn't sure where tom place my question here in the forum, but here we go: I have a small ...

    1. #1
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Sky Router + AV system

      I wasn't sure where tom place my question here in the forum, but here we go:

      I have a small project design for the living room in my new flat, see drawing bellow.

      The question is, would I be able to place my Sky Broadband Router on the small shelf above the speaker on the right side of the TV?

      I mean, would I be at risk of the sound system interfering with the broadband signal (or vice versa)?

      (mind you the speakers claim to be "magnetically shield", if that makes any difference)

      Last edited by rominho; 03-06-09 at 04:59 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router + AV system

      It shouldn't really make a difference connecting using an ethernet cable, as for the wireless if you are going to be using it, putting it really anywhere near electrical devices such as tv's etc can interfere with the signal, but if you are going to be wired to the router it will be fine.

    4. #3
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky Router + AV system

      the only thing that may upset your connection is if you put an extention on the DSL cable, the one that comes from your phone socket to the router.

      As long as your not too far from the socket you will be ok, (too long is anything that is further than the cable that came with the router)
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    5. #4
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router + AV system

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      the only thing that may upset your connection is if you put an extention on the DSL cable, the one that comes from your phone socket to the router.

      As long as your not too far from the socket you will be ok, (too long is anything that is further than the cable that came with the router)

      You mean connecting wireless or wired?

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Router + AV system

      He means if you use a longer telephone lead onto the router you will have issues whether you are on wireless or wired connection to the PC. Is your Sky router connecting to the telephone socket via the short grey lead and a filter or are you using an extension of any kind?

    7. #6
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router + AV system

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      He means if you use a longer telephone lead onto the router you will have issues whether you are on wireless or wired connection to the PC. Is your Sky router connecting to the telephone socket via the short grey lead and a filter or are you using an extension of any kind?
      In fact I am not even connected yet as the works on the living aren't finished, but the distance between the telephone socket and the router would not be much longer than about 1 meter ... I am sure the lead that comes with the router would do just fine.

      I reckon I will have to give it a try and see how it goes.

    8. #7
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router + AV system

      Well in case it doesn't work well, I will have to go wired, and in this case the telephone socket is not far from the computer but in order not to have cables scattered around the floor I will have to use a 4 to 5 meters extension (going around a door ..etc). So what is better?
      A) To keep the router close to the socket and use a long ethenet cable
      B) To keep the router close to the computer and use a long telephone/DLS cable

    9. #8
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky Router + AV system

      You need to keep the router close to the phone socket, the longer the cable between the socket and router the bigger problems you can get.

      You can run Ethernet for up to 100m beofre you notice any problems.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION