Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

    This is a discussion on Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Yes, the bell wire is only present when there are extensions connected to the Master socket. Check if you have ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      Yes, the bell wire is only present when there are extensions connected to the Master socket. Check if you have any junction boxes between the master socket and the entry to your house.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      J@mie's Avatar
      J@mie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morecambe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      You mean like attached?

      That one is in my kitchen and I have one in the hallway just outside the front room, where the Master Socket is.

      The one that is in the kitchen I am 100% certain this is connected to the master socket, as the BT guy who came to fit the line, ran the cable from the kitchen.

      Not sure about the one in the hallway though, could be an old one...
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!-06022010017.jpg  

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      Can you open up the box in the picture and see if there is a number on it? It may not be, but it is possible this is an RF filter. If it is an RF2 it will degrade the broadband. Broadband needs an RF3 to work properly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      J@mie's Avatar
      J@mie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morecambe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      I've just popped the front off, and the front cover inside, has a 2 in the top right hand corner?

      Is this what you were referring to?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      A picture would be useful ?

      Have a look here -
      ::. Kitz - BT Phone Sockets .::
      Scroll down and you will see the BT80A RF2 and RF3 filters.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      J@mie's Avatar
      J@mie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morecambe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      Sorry, forgot to attach!

      There isn't any type of circuit board like in the pictures you linked me to, it's just the black wire which comes from outside, which seems to be connected to the wiring in the house with some sort of clips/connectors?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!-06022010018.jpg  

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      Unfortunately it is just a junction box with 'jellybean' connectors, so there is no help there. I can't think of anything else except to check your external wiring for any bare parts, cracks or splits in the cable.

      Is there a cable running from the other junction box in your hall.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      J@mie's Avatar
      J@mie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morecambe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      I checked the other box, seems it was an old box from an old line, cables coming from it, but you can see it's been cut.

      Can't really check the external wiring as it runs from the first floor of the house. I'll leave to Sky for that one.

      Sky should be ringing me soon, they said between 3 and 5pm, so hopefully they should have some infomation! They were all for sending me a new router yesterday...

      Thanks for the help though, much appreciated!

    10. #19
      J@mie's Avatar
      J@mie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morecambe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!

      Sky just rang me, as promised.

      The very nice chap reconfigured my line. He said even though I am close to the exchange, I can only get really supposed to get 14Mb and he said that was pushing it. But he's put it back to the 16odd I was on and put my upload up too! He tried over 1Mb, but it was getting errors and it instantly dropped out, He's set my target SNR to 9db and he's set my ping to 30ms.

      Been up for 10 mins so far and looking good!

      Getting another ring back tomorrow to see how I get on...
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Netgear V2 router, resets password, settings and constant drop outs!-newstat-.jpg  

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION