Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Limited or no connectivity

    This is a discussion on Limited or no connectivity within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I spent two hours last night on the phone to technical support, have beenr eading here and can find ...

    1. #1
      Serena's Avatar
      Serena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Limited or no connectivity

      Hi,

      I spent two hours last night on the phone to technical support, have beenr eading here and can find similar problems but not sure what best to try next.

      The router seems to cut in and out - sometimes it works, but then it goes to limited or no connecitivity. Turning it off and on again sometimes kickstarts it but usually not. After resetting the IP and DNS address with the support last night the LAN connection now says it is connected but still I can't browse. They are sending a new router, but suggested it might be something to do with spyware or a problem on my PC.

      Any thoughts? Getting very frustrated...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Try connecting the computer to router with the supplied ethernet cable. If that solves it you have wireless problem, usually to do with reception or encryption. See help files on Sky CD on how to address router's user interface. Change wireless channels -- and/or temporarily turn off wireless security while you figure out how to apply passphrase to wireless adapter in computer.

    4. #3
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Agree that you should connect the router by the ethernet cable to establish the routers status. When you've done this the router should connect to the computer with no further action from you.

      If the router connects OK then you enter the routers set up page by typing (in Internet Explorer or Firefox) the following address:

      192.168.0.1 (and then press Return)

      This should take you to the pop up asking for the User_Name and Password ( which are: admin/sky). You are now able to set new parameters for the router (such as turning the Encryption on/off).

      However you may find that setting a manual IP address for the Wireless Card is a better place to start. The method for doing this varies from version to version of Windows so we'd need to know which you are using - but basically find the Wireless Card in Network Connections, then Right click on it, then select Properties and finally selct TCP/IP. Turn off Auto and chose a manual IP address:

      IP address 192.168.0.25
      Submask 255.255.255.0
      Gateway 192.168.0.1

      This forces the WiFi to use that address and not one allocated by DHCP.

      Try that without the the ethernet cable connected as see how you get on.

    5. #4
      Serena's Avatar
      Serena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Quote Originally Posted by fihart View Post
      Try connecting the computer to router with the supplied ethernet cable. If that solves it you have wireless problem, usually to do with reception or encryption. See help files on Sky CD on how to address router's user interface. Change wireless channels -- and/or temporarily turn off wireless security while you figure out how to apply passphrase to wireless adapter in computer.
      Ah, I should have mentioned this is on the cable already, not wireless.

    6. #5
      Serena's Avatar
      Serena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      Agree that you should connect the router by the ethernet cable to establish the routers status. When you've done this the router should connect to the computer with no further action from you.

      If the router connects OK then you enter the routers set up page by typing (in Internet Explorer or Firefox) the following address:

      192.168.0.1 (and then press Return)
      Thanks to you both for suggestions.

      As above, it's already on a cable and not working.

      One of the things the tech people was tried putting 192.168.0.1 into the browser window, but it just gave the same response, Address not found.

      The weird thing is the LAN connection claims to be connected, and the tech guys can see that it is connecting (in theory). But the browsers and email won't accept this and give error messages that claim there is no connection.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Open a Command Prompt and type ipconfig /all Copy and paste the result here.

      What OS are you running?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Serena's Avatar
      Serena is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Open a Command Prompt and type ipconfig /all Copy and paste the result here.

      What OS are you running?
      It's XP - I'm away from the computer now, but will try that later, thanks.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION