Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

    This is a discussion on How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello guys. How is everyone? Just wondered if you guys could help me out. I remember putting a timer on ...

    1. #1
      Donald2009's Avatar
      Donald2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      Hello guys.
      How is everyone?

      Just wondered if you guys could help me out.

      I remember putting a timer on my internet which auto turned my internet off at 9:00pm & turned back on at 8:00am.

      Although I have forgotten how to turn the timer off.
      I'm sure I managed to do it in my router settings on my PC.

      If anyone has any ideas that would be great.

      Thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      Quote Originally Posted by Donald2009 View Post
      I'm sure I managed to do it in my router settings on my PC.
      Scheduling can be found in the router admin pages (router not PC). That's where you will have set things.

      BTW, please don't post duplicate threads. It just clutters up the forum.

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      If you have the Netgear router, log in :- 192.168.0.1, user = admin password = sky.

      Go to schedule and just tick the days and enter the start and end times.

    5. #4
      Donald2009's Avatar
      Donald2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      Thank you for your help.
      The timer doesn't seem to be set, although my net does go off at the same time & switches back on at the same time each day.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      Try resetting your router by pushing a biro into the reset switch at the rear and hold it there until the lights flash. This will permanently remove any settings you have in the router.

      In saying that, there could be another reason. Do the lights on the router go off or change colour when you loose your connection. Are you connecting by wireless or cable?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Donald2009's Avatar
      Donald2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      I know it's deffinitaly a timer.
      I have a wireless connection for 1 PC & cable connection for another PC.

      Could Sky have control over the timer to switch my net off if I had phoned them up?
      Saying that, the net always goes off & comes on dead on the same times each day. So i'm guessing it has to be set somewhere? Maybe my parents phoned up Sky & they put the timer on & it can't be accessed in the router settings?

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      Quote Originally Posted by Donald2009 View Post
      Could Sky have control over the timer to switch my net off if I had phoned them up?
      No.

      Have they plugged it into a timer socket?
      Last edited by Smithy99; 15-03-09 at 08:27 PM.

    9. #8
      Donald2009's Avatar
      Donald2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      Hmm a timer socket, I shall have a look, although I don't think that there is.

      Thank you for that mate.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      I did not realize you were referring to something set up by your parents. If so it could very well be a timer on the power plug. That is why I asked if the router lights went out. I remember recommending this to a user a couple of years ago who wanted to restrict his children's internet use and did not feel competent to doing it by router settings. You wouldn't be one of these children would you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Donald2009's Avatar
      Donald2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How Do I Put An Internet Timer On & Turn Off?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I did not realize you were referring to something set up by your parents. If so it could very well be a timer on the power plug. That is why I asked if the router lights went out. I remember recommending this to a user a couple of years ago who wanted to restrict his children's internet use and did not feel competent to doing it by router settings. You wouldn't be one of these children would you.
      They put it on because I was waking up late in the afternoons.
      If they just took the timer off I would go to bed early!
      It's just I like leaveing my PC on through the morning as I use torrents.
      I shall try & check if the lights go out & see if there's a plug timer.
      Hopefully it's just a plug timer.
      Thanks mate.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION