Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

    This is a discussion on Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello Folks, I am new to this forum and searched through to find a solution for issue/objective i have: 1) ...

    1. #1
      rashidsiddiqui's Avatar
      rashidsiddiqui is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      Hello Folks,


      I am new to this forum and searched through to find a solution for issue/objective i have:

      1) I have sky broaband base (works very well and reliable).
      2) Use SKY Netgear DG834GT Wireless Router (not sure which version V1 or something else)
      3) More than one computer connect to it either directly(via ethernet port)/wireless to the router. All running Windows XP or higher.

      I need to acheive two things:

      1) Log all traffic going through the router. There is no proxy server in the equation. Ideally i am looking for some sort of router utility/firmware which would sit on the router to enable it to log all sites visited and ideally email the logs to an email address.

      Please note: the router is powered ON/OFF on various occassions during the day.

      2) Need to restrict access to the router via the ethernet ports at the back. Ideally looking for similar access control solution as the router console provides for wireless connections.

      I need this very urgently as i get visitors every now and then who spend all day downloading stuff, they have managed to get round the wireless access issue (due to wireless control switched on the router) by connecting directly using the network port at the back of the router.


      Any help acheiving this would be really appreciated. Many thanks in adavnce.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      Can you not set the MAC address for connecting equipment so only know PC's etc can connect?

      I know you can for wireless but I am not sure about ethernet.

    4. #3
      rashidsiddiqui's Avatar
      rashidsiddiqui is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      Many thanks for your response Smithy99. Unfortunately, i couldn't find this option anywhere in the admin console for the router for ethernet port connectivity.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      You could possibly do it by
      1. Turning off the DHCP server in the router setting.
      2. Give each of your machines you want to allow access a manual address. Say you have 5 machines you want to give access - their addresses would range from 192.168.0.2 to 6.
      3. Go into the LAN settings and change the maximum available addresses from 192.168.0.254 to 192.168.0.6.
      4. Again in the LAN setting, enter each machines details into the Address Reservation List. This is easiest done by copying from the Attached Devices list.
      This should restrict access to the machines you have nominated, by wireless or ethernet. You must also change the default password of the router to restrict access to it's settings. I hope this is clear.

      There is no economical way to do the other things you want. The total usage can be got by using the Skyuser Bandwidth Meter. Read the instructions and download from here-
      SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      rashidsiddiqui's Avatar
      rashidsiddiqui is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      Many Thanks for your response "Isitme". The only issue with assigning fixed IP address is that my laptop is a work laptop and as they use DHCP at work, my laptop is set to obtain ip address automatically. I understand that having a fixed IP address is the only way for this scheme to work, i was wondering if there is a workaround by not having to base this on IP address, but purely on MAC address of each trusted machine???

      Look forward to your kind response. Many thanks.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      they use DHCP at work, my laptop is set to obtain ip address automatically. I understand that having a fixed IP address is the only way for this scheme to work
      If you are using XP or later, that is no problem. You can set it up to use an 'Alternative Address'. Instructions on how to do this are contained in this article.

      Managing One Windows XP-based Laptop for the Office and Home

      I don't think you can use MAC filtering to restrict ethernet use, although you can for using wireless.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      under advanced you can go to the LAN IP setup and assign IP addresses by MAC address, then turn the DHCP off and it should work - i dunno...

      edit: scrap that, only works if DHCP is on, i think...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is no economical way to do the other things you want. The total usage can be got by using the Skyuser Bandwidth Meter. Read the instructions and download from here-
      SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)
      We are currently trying a version that will only monitor WAN and not LAN traffic on the new version of the SkyUser Bandwidth Meter.

      This should be rolled out to the beta testers soon.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      This should be rolled out to the beta testers soon.
      I look forward to it. I have been moving a lot of stuff around my network this month and my upload on some machines is double my download. It makes the running total a bit of a nonsense. I keep meaning to disable it when I am moving stuff on the LAN, but age is catching up I think

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      UseLess's Avatar
      UseLess is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Demon
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      North East UK
      Posts
      248
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Router Traffic logging on SKY DG834GT Router

      Greetings,

      In answer to your questions...

      1. Not possible. As this would require a program being added to the router firmware in order to monitor the WAN traffic. You could use a third party program but this would need to be on every PC accessing the internet via your router.

      Edit: You could add a rule to the outbound list to monitor all traffic and log it, the default rule does not log the info, however this will not tell you how much data was transferred just the IP/port of the requested URL.

      2. Probably not possible.

      Alter the DHCP settings so that the range of available IP's is equal to the number of machines you want to connect. i.e. 192.168.0.2 to 192.168.0.7 for 6 machines, 4 wired and 2 wireless. Then add reservations for the wired machines entering the IP you want assigned to the machine and the MAC address of the PC's NIC (Network Interface Card).

      For the wireless machines add the MAC addresses to the wireless security section.

      However... if someone knows the IP range i.e. 192.168.0.x then all they would need to do is manually assign an IP address in this range, i.e. 192.168.0.125, setting the router's IP as the gateway and they have internet access regardless of the above DHCP changes.
      Quote:
      Life is like a toilet roll, the closer you get to the end the faster it goes....

      SkyUser Pinger | Password Generator | Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION