Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    black router are they faulty?

    This is a discussion on black router are they faulty? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; a friend of mine who was lucky enough to have two sky routers sent to him has been testing them, ...

    1. #1
      steveblue's Avatar
      steveblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      black router are they faulty?

      a friend of mine who was lucky enough to have two sky routers sent to him has been testing them, he has a filtered faceplate fitted to his telephone socket the one from adslnation i think, anyway he was using the black v2 router for a while which worked great during the day but at night the snr dropped from 7db to almost zero , so lost connection reconnected at lower speed. so decided to try the white v1 router, the difference being in the evening the snr only dropped from 7db to about 5db didnt lose connection for 5 days, so he then retested the black router dg934 again snr dropped in the evening every night so my friend was wondering is there a fault with the black routers?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Yorkieair's Avatar
      Yorkieair is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Moortown
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Leeds - West Yorks
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      My Black router which is Netgear has been far better since the V2.02.44 Firmware update, now stays on and works well down to 1 db noise and sometimes even at zero.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      There is no fault on the black router they just report the noise margin slightly differently and behave differently on it due to differences in the firmware. You would be better off posting a set of stats from the router and explaining your physical setup.

    5. #4
      steveblue's Avatar
      steveblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      sorry didnt reply straight away (family crisis) what confuses me is that many people who have good lines and are connected to the master socket via filtered faceplates all seem to have low snr in the evening? my friend has a good line and like i said has two sky routers, he tested both of them , the v1 router and the black netgear v2 he had no connection loss with the v1 but every night the v2 dropped connection at least once? now i am not technical but i have read many many posts all saying the same thing about low snr with the DG934G router, some peoples routers go as low as 1db without a dropped connection? my question is why are the routers reporting such low snr? and before you say its a line fault its not, its the router DG934G has a fault!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      what confuses me is that many people who have good lines and are connected to the master socket via filtered faceplates all seem to have low snr in the evening?
      In the evening there is more noise on telephone lines, due in part to many people being on line. This causes the noise margin to reduce. Many routers, DG934s included, can maintain a connection right down to almost zero. If the connection drops the router reconnects at a lower speed, with a higher noise margin, usually about 6.9dbs. If you subsequently reboot the router at a quiet time on the line it will connect at a higher speed, with the same default noise margin. If you do this, as soon as the noise on the line increases again the reconnection will again drop. In theory if you boot your router at a noisy time it should then maintain its connection indefinitely without dropping.

      before you say its a line fault its not, its the router DG934G has a fault!
      Is that why it was replaced in the first place?
      It is possible the line has a fault which that particular router cannot handle, but that is not to say it would not perform perfectly well on another line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      steveblue's Avatar
      steveblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      the router was replaced because it got very hot( v1) as for rebooting after connection drop it will only synch at 3/4db, it performs brilliantly during the day but at night connection drop, but the v1 doesnt drop connection? as i said many many people report this with the black router,so its not just my mate who gets these drops, a friend of his who used to work for an isp company said the black routers are notorius for low snr?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      I've got a V2 Neatgear on the original .34 FW and it never drops connection...even at low SNRs...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      I have the V2 with the new FW and never had an issue with it whatsoever, whatever FW it had.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      as i said many many people report this with the black router,
      Where are they reporting this? Many members of this forum have reported they are very happy with them.

      So it was the V1 router which he is now using which was replaced. These routers were notorious for overheating when not stood up on their legs to allow a free flow of air.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: black router are they faulty?

      Mine re-syncs the connection every 2 or 3 days! This is never a problem for me as I'm usually in bed at the time!
      The speed usually starts out at 5.3ish rising to 6.1, then it drops to 5.3ish and starts again.
      I've always put this down to the reported low SNR on an evening/night!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION