Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Router Connection Query (Techy)

    This is a discussion on Router Connection Query (Techy) within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My friend has Sky Max which he uses only for online gaming.He has been given an old pc which does ...

    1. #1
      Hairy's Avatar
      Hairy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Connection Query (Techy)

      My friend has Sky Max which he uses only for online gaming.He has been given an old pc which does not have an ethernet port and has been trying to figure out if he can connect it to his Sky router(black Sagem I think).He has tried an USB to ethernet adapter but can't get the drivers to work.Does anyone have any suggestions?

      I'm trying to find a solution because I think I'll have to buy him a new pc if he can't get it working!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Connection Query (Techy)

      Is it a desktop or laptop ? If desktop the simplest answer is a cheap PCI Network Interface Connector (NIC).

      If laptop, PCMCIA slot is usually simpler than USB -- especially if you get an Intel-chipset model such as Xircom where drivers are often included in Windows (XP, that is).

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Connection Query (Techy)

      If he is fairly close to his router, with no intervening walls, a cheap wireless adapter may be the easiest to fit. I recently got one of these Linksys from Amazon and it works very well.

      I agree an NIC would be best but it does involve opening the PC.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Router Connection Query (Techy)

      If the PC is really old then we need to establish which Operating System is installed before any firm recommendations can be made.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router Connection Query (Techy)

      Also what type of interface is on the motherboard

    7. #6
      Hairy's Avatar
      Hairy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Connection Query (Techy)

      Thanks for all the replies,it's a desktop running Windows XP Pro.

      I plugged a Belkin USB to ethernet adapter into it and the Windows hardware wizard didn't find it so I tried on my pc and the wizard found it immediately which makes me wonder if there is another issue with it.

      Instead of wasting your time I think maybe it would be best to cough up for another pc!

      Thanks again for your help.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router Connection Query (Techy)

      You can get a cheap pci ethernet card for under 10, that should sort it.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Connection Query (Techy)

      I plugged a Belkin USB to ethernet adapter into it and the Windows hardware wizard didn't find it
      Probably needs Sp2 and these type of adapters are not always reliable. If wireless is not suitable, fitting a network card is very simple. If you use something like the Intel Pro10/100, you will not even need drivers. A lot cheaper than a new PC

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION