Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

    This is a discussion on Has anyone ever been done for changing router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I understand it's against the terms and the warnings on sites like this mention getting service suspected or worse. But ...

    1. #1
      Nozza's Avatar
      Nozza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      I understand it's against the terms and the warnings on sites like this mention getting service suspected or worse. But has this happened to anyone and if so was it detected remotely?

      It's just that due to a work vpn issue it appears that the router we have is no use so we might have to think about ripping the password and using another brand.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      not yet, but we have rumbled a few recently and gave them a warning...

      and VPN works with the V1 Netgear...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Nozza's Avatar
      Nozza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      If I don't have that router then what?

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      Then change your Skyuser profile for a start

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      not yet, but we have rumbled a few recently and gave them a warning...
      Might I ask what was the nature of the warning?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      I think that if you are daft enough to draw attention to your non-sky router by calling support while you have it connected, you cant complain if sky moan.

    8. #7
      Nozza's Avatar
      Nozza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      Whilst I think it's great sky send out routers preconfigured, I think it's pretty stupid to restrict or even punish their own users who find the supplied router insufficient for their needs. The other ISPs don't do this.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Nozza View Post
      Whilst I think it's great sky send out routers preconfigured, I think it's pretty stupid to restrict or even punish their own users who find the supplied router insufficient for their needs. The other ISPs don't do this.
      I think it;s pretty stupid to sign up to a service knowing that you are not allowed to use your own router and then complain that you are not allowed.

      For the majority, the standard Sky router is plug and play with little need for technical knowlegde to set it up.

      If you do need to ring Sky, they know exactly what router you have and have a process to deal with the problems on the routers they supply, they know how each one works and the process needed to set them up, this would not be possible if their 100,000's of customers all used their own equipment.

      It makes good business sense to limit the hardware that connects to their network and gives them greater control of it.

      I have yet to see a good reason why people must use their own routers to connect directly to Sky.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      I have yet to see a good reason why people must use their own routers to connect directly to Sky.

      The only thing I can think of that would be useful for domestic users is one that supports QoS. Most other 'refinements' are useful for business users only, not domestic users. Anyone who expects to get a business service for 5-10 a month is thinking wishfully.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Has anyone ever been done for changing router?

      I understand the QoS feature but couldn't you get this by hooking up your "good" router directly to the Sky router using a LAN cable?

      So in doing this you would not be breaching the Sky T&C's

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION