Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Weird router prob

    This is a discussion on Weird router prob within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I'm hoping someone can help as this is driving me mad! I'm on my third router from Sky now. ...

    1. #1
      hibby7062's Avatar
      hibby7062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Weird router prob

      Hi

      I'm hoping someone can help as this is driving me mad! I'm on my third router from Sky now.

      I have both Sagem & Netgear .... Latest one is a Sagem.

      The routers keep re-booting and won't connect to the adsl connection.

      When first switched on I get the green power light and green test light they go out then the adsl light goes green with the 4 LAN ports going green too then they all go out and then repeats!!

      Sky have tested my line and said all is well but surely I can't be that unlucky to have three routers with the same problem. The Netgesr router does something very similar.

      Any advice appreciated )


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Weird router prob

      What have you tried to do to fix the problem ? Reset (pen in back), flashed back firmware(on CD) ?

      You have said about two of the routers, what is up with the 3rd?

    4. #3
      hibby7062's Avatar
      hibby7062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Weird router prob

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      What have you tried to do to fix the problem ? Reset (pen in back), flashed back firmware(on CD) ?

      You have said about two of the routers, what is up with the 3rd?
      Hi Mate

      Ive tried all I can think off, I was on an ext cable so thought it was that so Ive replaced and also tested from main socket with the same results.

      I flashed the firmware back on the Netgear but and then when plugged into the adsl it upgraded it again but still same results... it keeps rebooting.

      The 3rd router I received yesterday, plugged everything in and again it goes through the cycle i described above.

      Ive tried resetting with the rest button on the three routers (2xSagem 1X Netgear) but with same results.

      The only time I got a good reaction is when I removed the ADSL line and reset the Netgear... it became stable and I could use the LAN port to connect to it but as soon as I added back in the adsl line.... it reboots.... hence how I deducted it was the adsl line but Sky disagrees.

      I will call Sky again today... surley im not unlucky to have 3 dodgy routers !

      Thanks for your response!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Weird router prob

      If you have a Test socket, behind the Master socket faceplate, try it there and see what the result is. Do you have any noise on your voice line?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      hibby7062's Avatar
      hibby7062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Weird router prob

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you have a Test socket, behind the Master socket faceplate, try it there and see what the result is. Do you have any noise on your voice line?
      Ive never tried the test Socket so ill try that when I get home from work but voice calls are all ok.

      Thanks for your response.

    7. #6
      hibby7062's Avatar
      hibby7062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Weird router prob

      Turned out ... it was two dodgy routers...third one is working well and not had a problem since installing over a week ago now ! )
      Just thought Id update!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION