Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Connecting multiple pc's on the netgear DG934G router

    This is a discussion on Connecting multiple pc's on the netgear DG934G router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I have just concluded that I am having same problem. If I got 3 on same time they will ...

    1. #11
      Netpest666's Avatar
      Netpest666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting multiple pc's on the netgear DG934G router

      Hi, I have just concluded that I am having same problem. If I got 3 on same time they will cause random disconnects to the other computers.

      This is badly affecting online gaming and feeling kinda sad moving from old ISP who was perfect.

      If there naything to check on the router? nothing in my setup has changed since changing ISP's

      Any help much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Ratcliffes's Avatar
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting multiple pc's on the netgear DG934G router

      Well at least one thing has changed in your setup - You have (presumably) changed to Sky's router. I suspect wireless problems for both posters with this problem and the solution may be found by changing wireles channels (try the one which used to work for your old router if you know it) or connect with an ethernet cable or homeplug to your router.

    4. #13
      Tashady1977's Avatar
      Tashady1977 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thame
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting multiple pc's on the netgear DG934G router

      Ok, so I managed to get 4 computers running off the hub last night, no problems. I managed to get my boy friend round and connect his laptop up to my hub wirelessly, I had my desk top running wirelessly, my daughter had her laptop on wirelessly, and my son had his desktop wirelessly, so maybe for the other laptop that we would like to connect could be a setting in there somewhere thats causing the problem? What do you think??? If so what could this be?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connecting multiple pc's on the netgear DG934G router

      The plugs supplied with BT Vision will work OK with your router. Just plug one into the router and the other where you want it. They are a far better solution than wireless, especially for gaming and downloading. Wireless may be convenient for browsing, but that is about all.

      In theory you can connect 253 devices to the router, but I shudder to think what sort of performance you would get. I think wireless is a bit more complicated, where a more powerful adapter can swamp out others, either reducing their speed or preventing them connecting altogether. It does not help that the Sky routers do not have what you could call outstanding wireless performance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      dom1102's Avatar
      dom1102 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting multiple pc's on the netgear DG934G router

      Hi, interesting. having a similar issue, swapped to Sky wireless broadband (Netgear DG934G router) from BT wireless broadband. The Sky router only allows one connection at a time. The previous BT router allowed multiple connections (we have 3 laptops in our house) so ruling out a bandwidth issue. I have tried the methods sugested by Felix which were not the issue (my ending i.p is also set to 192.168.0.254). Has this been resolved ??

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION