Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    New Sky install advice needed

    This is a discussion on New Sky install advice needed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Howdy All I have just had Sky put into my parents. I had Sky installed at home when it first ...

    1. #1
      welshwales's Avatar
      welshwales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caerphilly
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky install advice needed

      Howdy All

      I have just had Sky put into my parents. I had Sky installed at home when it first arrived and got a decent 6Mbit on attn of 47dB and SnR of 6-7dB. This was with a Netgear DG834GT router.

      The new install came with the DG934 router and the attn was 39-40dB and noise seemsto be moving from 4dB to 8dB.

      Now this line only gets 3Mbit. BT claim the line is fault free.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 700 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40 db 25 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 8 db

      Im sure this could be wiring related as there are pre 1980's style sockets installed. Or is there a bedding in period with new installs still these days?

      Any help will be highly appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      Sky is currently running DLM on all new installs this runs for around 2 weeks.

    4. #3
      welshwales's Avatar
      welshwales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caerphilly
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      Ahh so I take it even though them stats claim I should be getting double the speed I am it will get better after the training period.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      If not you call Sky tech support and go through troublshooting and CST manually reset the line speed.

    6. #5
      welshwales's Avatar
      welshwales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caerphilly
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      If not you call Sky tech support and go through troublshooting and CST manually reset the line speed.

      Day 13 and I decided to put a proper openreach master socket in place which raised the SnR dramatically. However I am now stuck at 2Mbit.

      As this is my parent account and they wouldnt have the foggiest idea what to say is there an online form I can fill in to request a reset?

      New stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2044 kbps 746 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43 db 24 db
      Noise Margin 19 db 8 db

    7. #6
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      Look at Kana form on the linky below

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      Explain in the form that tere was a fault on the line that has now been fixed and ask if the cap could be removed to enable the best speed from the line.

    9. #8
      welshwales's Avatar
      welshwales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caerphilly
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Explain in the form that tere was a fault on the line that has now been fixed and ask if the cap could be removed to enable the best speed from the line.
      Done

      Thanks for your help guys. I'll let you know how it goes.

    10. #9
      welshwales's Avatar
      welshwales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Caerphilly
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      Roughly how long do they take to reply or do anything?

      I had the auto generated reply with a reference Im guessing theres no way to follow this up?

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New Sky install advice needed

      Just get them to call sky BB tech, once they have gone through the ID process you can speak to the tier 1 agent for them. If they have a password on their sky account as long as you know it you can make the call for them.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION