Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

    This is a discussion on Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All, I used to be with sky bb but ditched them in May 07 when they cocked up my ...

    1. #1
      davey.lad's Avatar
      davey.lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NESUN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      Hi All,

      I used to be with sky bb but ditched them in May 07 when they cocked up my service when I moved home. However, I am returning and just re-ordered today.

      I was told by the sales guy that I would not be sent a new router as my records already indicate I have one from them... the original DG834GT... which I do and I don't have a problem not getting a new one. However, the old netgear is flashed with the latest generic firmware and would therefore not be able to log on to the sky network if I plugged it in.

      How do I get around a problem like this ? I originally extracted my sky username and password from the router when I first got it so I could use my own router... however, that info has long since disappearred. I'd be looking to do the same thing anyway (using a netgear DGN2000) but where will I get my sky username and password from ? ... will it be the old details anyway or will they create new ones for me ?

      These are the questions I'm hoping someone out the can answer.

      Cheers

      ps. when i tried to explain this to the sales guy I could almost imagine the perplexed look on his face.... clearly it was beyond his comprehension.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      You cannot, you need another router from Sky, ring them and explain that you have tested the router as it hasn't been used for a while and that it no longer powers up, no lights lit.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      you can reflash the Sky FW back onto it - it should be on the CD...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      davey.lad's Avatar
      davey.lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NESUN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You cannot, you need another router from Sky, ring them and explain that you have tested the router as it hasn't been used for a while and that it no longer powers up, no lights lit.
      Good suggestion... can I assume that you can still extract the login details from the newer sky routers so you can use your own router ?

    6. #5
      davey.lad's Avatar
      davey.lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NESUN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      you can reflash the Sky FW back onto it - it should be on the CD...
      another good suggestion... I may still have the disk somewhere. ta

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      you can reflash the Sky FW back onto it - it should be on the CD...
      But that wont give him his username or password will it?

      Yes, you can still get the details to use your own router.

    8. #7
      davey.lad's Avatar
      davey.lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NESUN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      But that wont give him his username or password will it?

      Yes, you can still get the details to use your own router.
      but I guess it will restore them to the router and then I can get them the same way i did originally

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      Just reflash your router to the Sky FW - your username and password will magically reappear to use as you wish.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      Quote Originally Posted by davey.lad View Post
      but I guess it will restore them to the router and then I can get them the same way i did originally
      There's an even easier way now.

      Getting your V1 and V2 router passwords - the safe way




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      davey.lad's Avatar
      davey.lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NESUN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Former Sky Broadband Customer... I've just re-ordered... help/info needed

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      marvellous...

      although the thread re: "sky cut me off cos i used my own router" seems a bit worrying !

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION