Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    can't use outlook express - help

    This is a discussion on can't use outlook express - help within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi new user to the forum & new to sky. had sky put in just before xmas with sky talk ...

    1. #1
      indigopig's Avatar
      indigopig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733210
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      can't use outlook express - help

      hi
      new user to the forum & new to sky.
      had sky put in just before xmas with sky talk and broadband.
      set broadband up today on 2 new acer laptops, brought from tesco just before xmas. only took them out of boxes today. problem - sky email won't run through windows mail, which is the new version of outlook express. i've been on to sky technical help, who after getting me to change all the pop3 server settings, told me my new laptops require looking at by a computer technician.i now can't send or recieve email from brand new laptops - i still have my old toshiba laptop, which still has tesco dialup on, and has had several isp's on through its time. never had to change server settings or anything. i now have to use old laptop to send and recieve e-mail, which is a right pain, as i do lots of work from home - please help me!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      Have you tried reading this Sky Email setup and settings section?

    4. #3
      indigopig's Avatar
      indigopig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733210
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      hi Koala5 - yes, just read sky email setup. I now find out that sky have misspelt my name for my email address. I have got further doing it myself than with sky's 'technical help'.
      I'll try their office in bonny Scotland tomorrow to change the spelling of my name.
      Thanks for the help anyway

    5. #4
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      Mite be quicker to login with the account you have got and make another email address ,

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      You can have upto 10 addresses, just make a new one and don't use the wrong one. Remember to enable pop3.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      They still cannot change typos yet, the system is still not ready for it, best bet is either create a secondary account and wait or put up with the typo for now.

    8. #7
      indigopig's Avatar
      indigopig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733210
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      right, after working on both computers till 4am this morning, and just got off the phone to sky. i can now receive email but not send any.i've been right through the settings several times, and a couple of times with sky. sky say i need a patch or something to get the email working properly. I can't find a patch to get windows vista to work with sky.
      I'm just debating if i should take off all sky software off one laptop and load up tesco dialup so i can work, or keep trying with sky.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      You can access the e-mail through the Sky.com website, it will at least keep you going until you have it sorted out.`

      I use windows mail (Vista 32) without problems and have set it up a couple of times due to a new system.

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      To use SSL you need to have a certain level of SP, if these are new laptops I doubt if its service pack level. Can you confirm what smtp settings are in use? Which server you are pointing at and what ports are in use?

    11. #10
      indigopig's Avatar
      indigopig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733210
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can't use outlook express - help

      right, situation so far. had the wrong e-mail account sending and receiving mail this morning after speaking to a nice person in their belfast office. Afternoon - set another account up with the correct spelling of my name - didn't work. Phoned sky again (possibly an office abroad), and after 20 mins on the phone to them altering settings etc NO EMAIL WORKING.
      Decided to give up with sky, phone the tech bod for the office, result - now have sky email, but only through sky software. windows mail still unable to send or receive on all email accounts.
      hi paulsky, settings are as follows:- smtp is set to 465, pop3 set to 995, both on secure connection. incoming mail pop.tools.sky.com outgoing mail smtp.tools.sky.com

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION