Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Black router, unable to access 198.162

    This is a discussion on Black router, unable to access 198.162 within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, My router has developed a fault (the Black Sagem model). I have tried to connect it to a PC ...

    1. #1
      MrP1963's Avatar
      MrP1963 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161973
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Black router, unable to access 198.162

      Hi,

      My router has developed a fault (the Black Sagem model).

      I have tried to connect it to a PC by ethernet in order to solve the problem and Sky unable to get me far.

      In short, the router displays the usual set of lights and my PCs can see a wireless signal. I cannot connect to the internet (error 104 unable to connect to server). I am unable to access the router itself via 198.162 (either wirelessly or with the ethernet).

      Sky have checked the line and can see the router working. Am I missing something (went through uncabling, reboots, resets, checking DNS etc etc etc). A shame really as until recently the router worked really well.

      Anyone have any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Black router, unable to access 198.162

      its 192.168.0.1...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      MrP1963's Avatar
      MrP1963 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161973
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Black router, unable to access 198.162

      Yes I have tried the full address and in the past had no probs. Why can my PCs see the signal and SKY say they can see the router yet I cannot get on the internet and cannot access the router either wirelessly or by ethernet (on both PCs).?

      By the way, thanks for the speedy reply.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Black router, unable to access 198.162

      Have you tried resetting the router by pushing a pin in the little hole in the back?

      You could also try giving one of your PCs a fixed address, say 192.168.0.3, on the off chance that the DHCP server is miss-behaving.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Black router, unable to access 198.162

      You don't have a proxy set on your Lan settings screen in internet explorer, tools, internet options, connections do you?

    7. #6
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Black router, unable to access 198.162

      Try turning your Firewall OFF to see if you can connect.

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Black router, unable to access 198.162

      Also see if somebody hasn't gone and changed the actual default IP address of the router as then you wouldn't be able to access it with the default IP address.

      Go to START> Accessories > Command Prompt and bring up the DOS window

      type

      ipconfig

      and you should get the DEFAULT GATEWAY appearing as the router IP address, now this should be 192.168.0.1 if not then it has been changed and to get into the router type in the number of the default gateway into your browser.

      If you still can't get into the router you could always unplug the router and then phone Sky and just say all the lights are dead etc and then they can't say they can see it working if there is no power to it.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION