Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 33

    Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

    This is a discussion on Sagem F@ST 2504 issue within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello there, before i get started, i am pretty computer savy and i have had much experence of wireless routers ...

    1. #1
      jimbell1983's Avatar
      jimbell1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      Hello there, before i get started, i am pretty computer savy and i have had much experence of wireless routers and broadband etc
      I have a lodger who recently moved in and we agreed that if i gave him a few quid each month i could patch into his wireless and get internet.
      He's got the sky deal (not sure which one) but its the sky plus box and broadband thrown in. Now hes got the Sagem F@ST 2504 router and the up to 8mb package. The router says its conected at 7552kps which is great, however i only seem to be getting a 2mb conection (tested via speedtest.net). I've tried different wireless adapters and hard wireing it via ethernet straight to the router yet still i only get 2mb.
      Am i correct in saying that whatever speed the router displays, is only the speed my line is capable of...not the speed your getting???
      Do i call sky, or do i have to just deal with it??
      Any help would be nice coz a faster line would be lovely!!
      Cheers
      Jim


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      Could you post your router stats. Also what package is the guy one mid/connect/max ?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      If you are not running Vista, try using TCPOptimiser, link below. With Sky LLU you should get 85-90% of the connection speed, but this could be considerably less with wireless. Post the stats as requested.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      jimbell1983's Avatar
      jimbell1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      I will post stats a bit later, im not at home right now. Cheers for the speedy reply guys. I've already used TC/IP optimizer with no effect.
      I didnt sign up the sky deal but i will find out what deal we've got in the house. I still get lousy speeds when i conect to the router with an ethernet cable so i dont think its the wireless being silly.
      Its just odd that if i take out all the phones in the house and the sky+ box conection, the router says its conected at 8meg but with the phones in it stays at 7. I dont mind beig stuck on 7meg, i just think its a bit annoying that we're paying for an up to 8 meg conection...the line clearly supports the speed so why are'nt i getting it!!
      Grrr, so frustrating, i'll be back a bit later...thanks again
      Jim

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      Make sure the Sky digibox is connected through a filter. Unless you have multi-room there is no real need to have it connected, unless you want to use the interactive services. There have been a few cases where the modem in the Sky box has 'played up' and caused connection problems.

      Take the stats from your normal position and from the Test socket for comparison.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      jimbell1983's Avatar
      jimbell1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      Ok guys, heres the stats of my router:

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023o.d20h
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 7552
      UpStream Connection Speed 448


      Skyplus box isnt conected anymore, only one phone is on the line through a filter.
      Any thoughts on why my pc cant get better than 2059Kbps dwn / 242kbps up
      (just ran speedtest and thats what it came up with.
      Im running windows xp SP3, and a NETGEAR RangeMax(TM) Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter WPN111 wirless card, but as i said, the speed doesnt change even if i use an ethernet cable. Wireless strength is exellent.
      Cheers guys
      Jim
      Last edited by Saturday; 08-12-08 at 09:53 AM. Reason: Removed personal info

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      Upstream, downstream, noise margin and Attenuation are the stats needed.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      OP is on Connect - looks like the peak time throttling is kicking in...

      to the OP:

      go to Test Result
      enter your phone number
      when it ask for your username, enter the LAN port MAC address (without the colons) followed by @skydsl - e.g. 00184D4A2B4B@skydsl

      it (should) perform a test telling you your current sync speed, IP profile and throughput - the throughput is the important bit...

      please post the results once done, bare in mind it may fail the first time...

      EDIT: not throttling - possibly more like stuck IP profile...
      Last edited by IWasNotTheEnemy; 08-12-08 at 09:56 AM.
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      jimbell1983's Avatar
      jimbell1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      haha sorry, i was half asleep when i posted that, i'll put them up when i get home a bit later!!

    11. #10
      jimbell1983's Avatar
      jimbell1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 issue

      Hi guys, i think i found the problem here, i think i need to call sky but see what you think.
      Test results are:
      Your DSL connection rate: 7552 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 2000 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1832 kbps


      and the router stats are:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7552 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19.0 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 21.0 db

      thanks again
      Jim

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION