Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Netgear DG934G Router

    This is a discussion on Sky Netgear DG934G Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I need some guidance on setting up a router. When I switched my ISP to Sky they sent me ...

    1. #1
      wildcat's Avatar
      wildcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: not sure
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Netgear DG934G Router

      Hi I need some guidance on setting up a router. When I switched my ISP to Sky they sent me a Segem router. As I am a home worker I needed to VPN in using Nortel Contivity. After several unsucessful attempts of VPNing I Googled for some answers to my problem to find links to this forum, henc why only joined today.

      I have been reading threads relating to this problem and bought myself a Netgear DG934G router off ebay. I have the Segem router setup to my own computer, via an ethernet cable, which I want to keep active. My works laptop is wireless and I want to use the Netgear one just for the laptop.

      I have optained the user name, password and Mac address for the Segem, supplied by Sky, and for the Netgear I bought of eBay. I know that I can't use the two routers together and intend to disconnect the Segem from the phone line when I want to use the Netgear router.

      My question is: Do I need to change config settings in the Netgear router, i.e Mac and IP address or can I just plug it in, so to speak, and just go. Any help would be very much appreciated on this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG934G Router

      If this is a Sky Netgear DG934G then you're stuffed. There aint any way to get your own logon details into it other than to reflash it as an ordinary non-Sky Netgear router!
      You may still be able to use it, but it will be with the original users details!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    4. #3
      wildcat's Avatar
      wildcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: not sure
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG934G Router

      Well that was good news. Not being to technical minded, I think using the original users details would not be far play. How do I flash it and what, if any, are the implications of doing it?

    5. #4
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Netgear DG934G Router

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! Flashing your router firmware

      The implications are that you will be contra to the Sky T&C. However, others here will tell you that no-one appears to have been cut off yet!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    6. #5
      wildcat's Avatar
      wildcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: not sure
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: Sky Netgear DG934G Router

      Thanks for the link I'll give a try - anything to save me a 120 mile round trip to an office each day. Hope Sky don't find out.

      Just for the record, it's about time Sky thought 'Green' and support their customers who are able to work from home. Maybe they could then claim regognision from the Goverment for being Ozone friendly. Or are they after the 'how much tax can you generate from your customers for the pot' award.

      A disgruntled Sky customer.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION