Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Original Netgear DG834GT , do they still work

    This is a discussion on Original Netgear DG834GT , do they still work within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've tried setting up a NAS unit to run via ftp and despite setting everything up correctly (to the best ...

    1. #1
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Original Netgear DG834GT , do they still work

      I've tried setting up a NAS unit to run via ftp and despite setting everything up correctly (to the best of my knowledge) I can't access it away from my home network.
      For the last couple of years I've been using a BT Voyager router, so today I thought I'd give the original Netgear DG834GT a go but I can't get it to connect at all (including 192.168.0.1)
      All that happens is that the power and test LED's alternate between each other on amber and green.
      I never updated the firmware so its a V1, so because it was never updated could it now be no good for connecting?
      (it used to connect fine, but that was over 2 years ago)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Original Netgear DG834GT , do they still work

      Having seen that the router might need to be left on to update itself, I've left it on for some time, unplugged it, waited a minute and plugged it back in again and it still has flashing power and test led's, so it looks like its had it.....
      Last edited by allancoblue; 05-11-08 at 10:48 PM.

    4. #3
      surfman1001's Avatar
      surfman1001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Original Netgear DG834GT , do they still work

      Hoe do i post a question abt nas? Joined the forum today so a bit confused.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Original Netgear DG834GT , do they still work

      Have you tried to reset the router, hold the little red button at the back in and power it up.

    6. #5
      jin's Avatar
      jin
      jin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Original Netgear DG834GT , do they still work

      The resetting of the router will do it - Let us know if it works...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION