Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

    This is a discussion on Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have recently received a new black router from Sky after my original white Netgear router discovered a fault (after ...

    1. #1
      Ben04uk's Avatar
      Ben04uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      I have recently received a new black router from Sky after my original white Netgear router discovered a fault (after 18 months of not having any problems at all). However, I am having trouble connecting to the new router.
      The new SkyXXXXX connection appears in the list of available wireless connections, and the signal strength is fine, but when I click to connect to it, and successfully enter the network key, I just canít seem to connect to the ADSL line.
      Has anyone else had this problem and does anyone know how to rectify it before I contact Sky Broadband again?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      Can you access the 192.168.0.1 page wirelessly? Are you giving the new wireless network key in caps with no numbers? Are all the needed lights on the router green and stable?

    4. #3
      Ben04uk's Avatar
      Ben04uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      All the lights are working as they should. I shall check the 192.168.0.1 page tonight to make sure everything is ok. I do get some very limited internet connection but it just wonít connect to the ADSL line Ė the network key that I type in is definitely correct Ė I type it in and click ĎConnectí and it doesnít say itís the wrong key or anything it just sort of hangs there, and then the next time I look at the list of the available wireless network Ė the SkyXXXXX one no longer appears.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      If you put it in using lower case that is what happens, in theory windows sees the key as correct... it then falls over trying to connect with it. One thing to check if you can is what channel is in use on the router, can you see any other wireless networks in the area? If so you may want to get the ethernet cable out, go into the 192 address, check what channel is in use and post back.

    6. #5
      Ben04uk's Avatar
      Ben04uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      ok, well it seems to be connecting properly. All of the information at 192.168.0.1 is correct. However, its telling me my connection speed is just 64kbps! No wonder its so slow. I never had a problem with my old white router. Any suggestions how to fix this or is there any help guide on this forum that can assist, i.e this problem has occured before?

    7. #6
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      Could you post the stats?

    8. #7
      Ben04uk's Avatar
      Ben04uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      Turns out those lovely people at Sky reset my connection to 64kbps when they replaced my Router but forget to change it back once the new one was sent out. After 1hr 30 mins on the phone, some bloke simply upped the connection speed and now I'm back in business at 16mb speed. Lovely stuff.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      test speed...

      a LOT of agents, for some reason, are ignoring procedure of resetting line speed after replacing a router...this is such a case...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Replaced old white Sky router with new black router - canít connect!

      And that careless agent cost the OP an hour and a half on the phone plus more time trying to work out what the problem was before calling

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION