Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Long Lead

    This is a discussion on Long Lead within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My master socket is a long way from the nearest power point. At the moment, I have a long, trailing ...

    1. #1
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      790
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Long Lead

      My master socket is a long way from the nearest power point. At the moment, I have a long, trailing power lead which is draped over a doorway and around the bottom of the stairs. I will eventually fix it in place.

      I have tried running a long shielded telephone line from the telephone master socket to the router at the power point but the performance isn't as good.

      I have been thinking of extending the 12v cable from the router plug to the router using something like speaker cable, since this will be easier to run and less conspicuous around the hall.

      Will this be possible, or will there be too much voltage drop in the line to power the router?

      Any advice appreciated.

      Regards,

      Felix


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Long Lead

      I would either use cat5 cable from the router to the PC or use Power Line adapters, either of those two options should help you.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      790
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Long Lead

      Thanks, NR, but the issue is getting power and telephone to the same area. Moving power to the telephone point gives better performance than telephone to the power point. I really want to know whether I can get a 12v supply there rather than a 240v supply by extending the lead between the transformer in the router's power plug and the router itself. Sorry if I didn't make that clear.

      I have just fitted powerline adapters to network the router to a distant PC and am very happy with the performance.

      Regards,

      Felix

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Long Lead

      Yes I understand what you mean. First off, check the polarity or the supply at the plug which goes in the router.
      I would think 0.75mm flat mains flex would be o.k. It is about the same size as the grey speaker cable you may be thinking of.

    6. #5
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      790
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Long Lead

      Thanks, Brian69. The router's lead is colour-coded (actually striped), so provided I keep colours or stripes together that should be OK.

      Is voltage drop over 10 metres likely to be a problem?

      Regards,

      Felix

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Long Lead

      The best way to check volt drop would be to get the length of cable you require, join it ai the power supply end (the power supply inself is prob sealed, so solder the extension to the exsisting cable).
      Do the same at the plug end, and power up the router (you need not have it connected to the pc or phone line), and measure the voltage across the joint at the router plug end, and the power supply end. A couple of volts differance should not matter.
      Dont forget to disable wireless if you are not using it as this will reduce any volt drop.

    8. #7
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      790
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Long Lead

      Thanks again. I'll give it a go.

      I bought a spare Sky Netgear router off eBay so I have a spare plug and lead if I completely foul up. I see that the 12v transformers and leads are also available on eBay for about 7 delivered.

      Regards,

      Felix

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Long Lead

      0.75mm has a volt drop of 50mV/A/m . so assuming the router draws 1Amp, then for 10m the volt drop would be 500mV. With wireless disabled, this would prob drop to 350mV.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION