Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Turn off Wifi

    This is a discussion on Turn off Wifi within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Help! After trying to connect a laptop to wifi unsuccessfully I can not now turn off the wifi option on ...

    1. #1
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Turn off Wifi

      Help!

      After trying to connect a laptop to wifi unsuccessfully I can not now turn off the wifi option on the router. No mater how many times I untick the option the light stays on. Its one of the original Netgear routers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kidd's Avatar
      Kidd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Netherley,Liverpool
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: Turn off Wifi

      Hi Madrat, I turned off wifi on the Netgear V1 Router last year, Just unticked the 3 boxes under "Wireless Access Point" and click on the "Apply Button" on the bottom.


      Kidd

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Turn off Wifi

      You must remember to click on Apply. If it still does not work try resetting the router by pushing a biro into the little hole at the back and holding it there for about 10 secs, or until the lights flash. Try turning it off again.

      If you have a white router, removing the aerial will render the wireless almost useless. Don't loose the aerial though in case you want to use it again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Kidd's Avatar
      Kidd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Netherley,Liverpool
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: Turn off Wifi

      I found just clicking the "Apply Button" switches the wifi on/off. Isitme, Would a hard reset not reset the wifi to on?

      Kidd

    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turn off Wifi

      The reset would set the router back to factory defaults (usually done if there is a problem with the router). So yes would set the wifi back to on, however may fix they problem of not switching the wifi off/on

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Turn off Wifi

      Would a hard reset not reset the wifi to on?
      That's why I said -
      Try turning it off again.

      As Googleme says, resetting the router can often fix little problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turn off Wifi

      Thanks everyone.

      I am so embarrassed I was looking at the power light and not the WIFI light I had been trying to get the lap top to work for 3 hours, unsuccessfully so I was a bit frazzled.

    9. #8
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turn off Wifi

      LOL, never mind we all have a mare at times

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION