Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Is Sagem any good?

    This is a discussion on Is Sagem any good? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; After the disappointment of my brand new Netgear router having a bad port, I've plugged in the replacement 'A grade' ...

    1. #1
      robn170's Avatar
      robn170 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is Sagem any good?

      After the disappointment of my brand new Netgear router having a bad port, I've plugged in the replacement 'A grade' sagem and my stats are now bad (and sync speed is lower).

      Sagem
      Down Attenuation 46.5 Noise Margin 7.1-7.3
      Up Attenuation 26.2 Noise Margin 7.5-8.0
      DL=793k/s (sample 80mb file dl)

      Netgear
      Down Attenuation 44 Noise Margin 7
      Up Attenuation 13 Noise Margin 9
      DL = 833k/s (same 80mb file dl)

      Have I got another dodgy one.. The DS attenuation on the Sagem is terrible.

      btw, I've only been a customer for a couple of weeks.. should I accept an A-grade replacement?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      there's nothing wrong with the router - different routers display attenuation differently...my old router showed 50 whereas my Netgear shows 46...

      as for A-Grade - all it means is you get the router/power supply and not all the wiring...nothing wrong with the router itself...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      Quote Originally Posted by robn170 View Post
      After the disappointment of my brand new Netgear router having a bad port, I've plugged in the replacement 'A grade' sagem and my stats are now bad (and sync speed is lower).

      Sagem
      Down Attenuation 46.5 Noise Margin 7.1-7.3
      Up Attenuation 26.2 Noise Margin 7.5-8.0
      DL=793k/s (sample 80mb file dl)

      Netgear
      Down Attenuation 44 Noise Margin 7
      Up Attenuation 13 Noise Margin 9
      DL = 833k/s (same 80mb file dl)

      Have I got another dodgy one.. The DS attenuation on the Sagem is terrible.
      Different routers report differently. It's impossible to say which one is more accurate. Whilst sync is lower, the Sagem will probably be more stable. Netgears have a habit of sync'ing too high at the expense of noise margin.

      Quote Originally Posted by robn170 View Post
      btw, I've only been a customer for a couple of weeks.. should I accept an A-grade replacement?
      That's just Sky for you. I reckon Sky are great if you have a good line and you don't have any problems, but otherwise they're going to aggravate you. Well that's how I feel, anyway.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      A-Grade has been explained above, there will be nothing wrong with the router, nobody gets sent a complete new package out as a replacement, it's router and PSU only.

    6. #5
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      My Sagem seems a bit flaky, don't know whether it's due to Sky's DNS servers but it seems to load pages slowly and needs to be reset every 20 odd days because it just loses connection and won't resync. My NM is 9dB in the day and 6/7dB at night so it should be able to hold the connection, right?
      Would Sky send a Netgear router out if I contacted them or is luck of the draw?
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    7. #6
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      I would say that the Netgear is worse. Sky won't give you one anyway.

      Have you tried a factory reset of the Sagem?

    8. #7
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      Quote Originally Posted by Sebby View Post
      I would say that the Netgear is worse. Sky won't give you one anyway.

      Have you tried a factory reset of the Sagem?
      Yes, to no avail. If it becomes a more frequent occurrence, I'll get on to them and see what they can do for me.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    9. #8
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      They will replace it, but they can't guarantee which router you'll get. I would say that, generally speaking, the Sagem is better.

    10. #9
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      Fair enough. Have you had problems with Netgear then?
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    11. #10
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is Sagem any good?

      Yep, both with Sky and when I've owned Netgear before Sky. Sky wouldn't replace my Netgear with a Sagem so I moved to Be.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION