Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sagem Router - WIFI problems

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router - WIFI problems within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; my friend has SKY and sagem router - he's been using wifi for nearly one year - just last week ...

    1. #1
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Sagem Router - WIFI problems

      my friend has SKY and sagem router - he's been using wifi for nearly one year - just last week it went off and couldnt get it back on

      now i tried via remote assist (cos im quite good with routers etc) to change the WIFI settings but upon clicking APPLY nothing would happen and it would keep the old setings?

      the problem is this: the laptop see's THREE other wifi connections (she says her neighbour has sky but doesnt know about THREE of them) but it doesnt see her wifi connection even though its enabled...???

      ive tried and tried and even deleted the connection from vista but upon refresh for detect wireless networks it keeps seeing these THREE other SKY wifi connections

      now ive said I think its because one of the neighbours is transmitting on same channel as her but like i say when i change it and click APPLY it wont remember it

      why is this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - WIFI problems

      Can your friend not do the same thing via ethernet cable to see if the same thing happens to her? It could be that the firmware has corrupted or it could just be something daft like your pc pulling an old page from cache instead of a new copy of the page from the router.

    4. #3
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - WIFI problems

      I think I would advise first turning off the router's power at the wall and leaving it for a few minutes before powering up and trying again. If no change, try pressing the reset button for a few seconds while powered.

    5. #4
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - WIFI problems

      thanks

      will give those a shot next time they come on msn

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - WIFI problems

      If it has been working OK for a year and suddenly stopped working, that is not being able to find the connection, chances are the router or the wireless adapter is faulty. With the router not holding the changes, I suspect it. If your friend can see and attempt to connect to another network, it is unlikely to be the adapter. The only way to find out for sure is to try another laptop with the router or try connecting the laptop to another router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION