Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Netgear DG934G firmware flash / upgrade failure

    This is a discussion on Netgear DG934G firmware flash / upgrade failure within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Can anyone shed some light on what I'm doing wrong? I was given a (new) sky DG934G wireless box ...

    1. #1
      zippo246's Avatar
      zippo246 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear DG934G firmware flash / upgrade failure

      Hi, Can anyone shed some light on what I'm doing wrong?

      I was given a (new) sky DG934G wireless box (the black one). I had intended to set this up as a DG834G by installing the 834 firmware as per the excellent tutorial given on kitz.

      Unfortunately it stalled - with an incompletely formed screen - just past where my network card was detected and before the MAC address of the netgear box should have appeared. Checked that I'd done things correctly. Yes, alternate blinking green lights, cables in. (running xp)

      Tried all four network sockets in sequence, rebooting each time - same.

      Selected static ip address - same (was DHCP at first).

      Tried a different PC and ethernet cable - same.

      So I tried using the netgear recovery utility on the sky cd. This looked the same as the one I downloaded from the netgear site. Now this should have worked, ie given me the opportunity to recover back to the file on the sky cd, but it still didn't progress to the MAC address stage (ie before I selected the image to restore).

      By this time I'm really pulling my hair out and about to physically destroy the router (and in my other mind saying that at least I've got a useable wireless router even if the modem can't be configured for my O2 broadband) but I stop myself in time.

      I had checked that I could ping the box and access the box on my browser, so the network setup should be correct. It seems that the netgear recovery utility won't talk to the box. Could it be an access rights ie login issue? Could sky have locked down their most recent boxes (this is only a few months old)? Or is it me forgetting an obvious simple parameter?

      I haven't opened the box yet to check the chip details, first I wanted to see if anyone else has had this problem (and its solution). Netgear recovery won't run in Linux, but is there another "generic" utility to force an .img file onto this eeprom? Or to check connectivity at that ie emergency recovery level? Curiously I found that on my router there is a firmware upgrade option (192.168.0.1/router_upgrade.html). This seemed too easy, and sure enough it wouldn't accept the DG834V3_V4.01.28_UK.img which I had renamed DG934G-1SKUKS_V1.02.26.img as per my cd. Shame!

      Please excuse the long post, I would be grateful for any help with this.

      Zippo246


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG934G firmware flash / upgrade failure

      Sometimes when the firmware upgrade stalls, enough of the upgrade has been carried out for the router to think that it is a 834. In that case, DON'T rename the 834 image and flash again. This tends to work.

      Regards,

      Felix

    4. #3
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG934G firmware flash / upgrade failure

      I get this too , firmware utility GUI is all messed up , no AV or firewall , static IP set .. does not show mac or anything its as if the netgear just isn't there .

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG934G firmware flash / upgrade failure

      I have not sen this reported for the 934 but it looks similar to the 834 failures experienced in this thread -
      Ive done it! Flashed router and got my sky password!

      You will have to look through the thread for a possible solution.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      gstitan's Avatar
      gstitan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG934G firmware flash / upgrade failure

      Quote Originally Posted by zippo246 View Post
      Hi, Can anyone shed some light on what I'm doing wrong?

      I was given a (new) sky DG934G wireless box (the black one). I had intended to set this up as a DG834G by installing the 834 firmware as per the excellent tutorial given on kitz.

      Unfortunately it stalled - with an incompletely formed screen - just past where my network card was detected and before the MAC address of the netgear box should have appeared. Checked that I'd done things correctly. Yes, alternate blinking green lights, cables in. (running xp)

      Tried all four network sockets in sequence, rebooting each time - same.

      Selected static ip address - same (was DHCP at first).

      Tried a different PC and ethernet cable - same.

      So I tried using the netgear recovery utility on the sky cd. This looked the same as the one I downloaded from the netgear site. Now this should have worked, ie given me the opportunity to recover back to the file on the sky cd, but it still didn't progress to the MAC address stage (ie before I selected the image to restore).

      By this time I'm really pulling my hair out and about to physically destroy the router (and in my other mind saying that at least I've got a useable wireless router even if the modem can't be configured for my O2 broadband) but I stop myself in time.

      I had checked that I could ping the box and access the box on my browser, so the network setup should be correct. It seems that the netgear recovery utility won't talk to the box. Could it be an access rights ie login issue? Could sky have locked down their most recent boxes (this is only a few months old)? Or is it me forgetting an obvious simple parameter?

      I haven't opened the box yet to check the chip details, first I wanted to see if anyone else has had this problem (and its solution). Netgear recovery won't run in Linux, but is there another "generic" utility to force an .img file onto this eeprom? Or to check connectivity at that ie emergency recovery level? Curiously I found that on my router there is a firmware upgrade option (192.168.0.1/router_upgrade.html). This seemed too easy, and sure enough it wouldn't accept the DG834V3_V4.01.28_UK.img which I had renamed DG934G-1SKUKS_V1.02.26.img as per my cd. Shame!

      Please excuse the long post, I would be grateful for any help with this.

      Zippo246
      Hi, That's exactly what happens when I try to flash sky router dg934g (black box) I have had over 20 goes on flashing it always stop after the the device page does not show number and just seems to freeze up. Has anybody been able to help you if so could you let me know how. Thanks, gstitan

    7. #6
      gstitan's Avatar
      gstitan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG934G firmware flash / upgrade failure

      Quote Originally Posted by FelixTCat View Post
      Sometimes when the firmware upgrade stalls, enough of the upgrade has been carried out for the router to think that it is a 834. In that case, DON'T rename the 834 image and flash again. This tends to work.

      Regards,

      Felix
      Originally Posted by zippo246 View Post
      Hi, Can anyone shed some light on what I'm doing wrong?

      I was given a (new) sky DG934G wireless box (the black one). I had intended to set this up as a DG834G by installing the 834 firmware as per the excellent tutorial given on kitz.

      Unfortunately it stalled - with an incompletely formed screen - just past where my network card was detected and before the MAC address of the netgear box should have appeared. Checked that I'd done things correctly. Yes, alternate blinking green lights, cables in. (running xp)

      Tried all four network sockets in sequence, rebooting each time - same.

      Selected static ip address - same (was DHCP at first).

      Tried a different PC and ethernet cable - same.

      So I tried using the netgear recovery utility on the sky cd. This looked the same as the one I downloaded from the netgear site. Now this should have worked, ie given me the opportunity to recover back to the file on the sky cd, but it still didn't progress to the MAC address stage (ie before I selected the image to restore).

      By this time I'm really pulling my hair out and about to physically destroy the router (and in my other mind saying that at least I've got a useable wireless router even if the modem can't be configured for my O2 broadband) but I stop myself in time.

      I had checked that I could ping the box and access the box on my browser, so the network setup should be correct. It seems that the netgear recovery utility won't talk to the box. Could it be an access rights ie login issue? Could sky have locked down their most recent boxes (this is only a few months old)? Or is it me forgetting an obvious simple parameter?

      I haven't opened the box yet to check the chip details, first I wanted to see if anyone else has had this problem (and its solution). Netgear recovery won't run in Linux, but is there another "generic" utility to force an .img file onto this eeprom? Or to check connectivity at that ie emergency recovery level? Curiously I found that on my router there is a firmware upgrade option (192.168.0.1/router_upgrade.html). This seemed too easy, and sure enough it wouldn't accept the DG834V3_V4.01.28_UK.img which I had renamed DG934G-1SKUKS_V1.02.26.img as per my cd. Shame!

      Please excuse the long post, I would be grateful for any help with this.

      Zippo246

      Please could you help me below the same thing happens to me.


      Hi, That's exactly what happens when I try to flash sky router dg934g (black box) I have had over 20 goes on flashing it always stop after the the device page does not show number and just seems to freeze up. Has anybody been able to help you if so could you let me know how. Thanks, gstitan

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION