Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

    This is a discussion on DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Ok so I recently got my connection configured correctly for gaming (reduced max delays) after some to-ing and fro-ing with ...

    1. #1
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      Ok so I recently got my connection configured correctly for gaming (reduced max delays) after some to-ing and fro-ing with tech support

      out of the blue this morning a new router arrives, I assume someone initiated sending me one during support calls but I wasn't expecting it at all

      I called sky and they said I shoudl return whichever one I didn't want but it was up to me since things had now been sorted which router I kept


      So should I open the new DG934G and use that or just stick with the older DG834GT?

      What are the advantages of one over the other?

      any advice greatly appreciated.

      cheers
      sc


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      The DG834GT allows the use of some utilities, such as BSR and CU firmware which the V2 model does not. You might want to plug the new one in and try it before deciding. From what I have read here, very few send routers back to Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      well I'm happy to stick with sky firmware
      however I would want the ability to use BSR to enable telnet and change the default DNS


      Generally I guess people assume a later model is a better model, but wanted to check that is the case.
      If the DG934G gives me no advantage over the older one than I'll simply send it back

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      The CU firmware runs on top of and with the Sky firmware. It does not replace it.

      I think there have been some reports of the V2 routers connecting at too high a speed and as a consequence dropping out. I much prefer the 'older' model.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      id stick with the GT

    7. #6
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      Quote Originally Posted by blondejon View Post
      id stick with the GT
      just wondering....why?

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      'cause, despite what you might read elsewhere on this forum, it's a very good router - for a freebie

      Personally, I'd hang on to both, using the 834 as the main with the 934 as a "spare".
      Last edited by Saturday; 14-10-08 at 08:59 PM.

    9. #8
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      because its tweakable,
      because its a good solid router,
      ecause I work for an ISP and enjoy supporting Netgear 834 series routers
      and
      abecause if you leave sky you can flash it back to the original firmware and save yourself some cash

      ;-)

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      abecause if you leave sky you can flash it back to the original firmware and save yourself some cash
      You can do that with the DG934 as well.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Sibling Chris's Avatar
      Sibling Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG834GT v. DG934G - should I upgrade?

      well I decided to just go with the new one

      interestingly I was having a conversation with the support engineer as he was tweaking my line last night (still have probs with sync speeds) and I asked a couple of question regarding the new router, this is what he said

      1) In the next week or so changes to the DG934G router are being rolled out that will limit everyone to an upload speed of 416kbps

      2) Once a new router is isntalled the MAC address is registered at the excahnge for my connection and you can't go back to useing the original router


      I am not sure of the accruacy of this information and a couple of things make me wonder whether I was being strung a long a little to shut me up!

      1) I asked if there was anything he could do to increase the upload speed. His excsuse was that planned changes would only end up setting this back to 416kbps anyway. What I fail to see is why this is specific to the router as he seemed to imply it was a firmware upgrade - surely the upload speed is down to the line and config of the connection not about router firmware?

      2) This makes no sense to me since they are happy to change what MAC is alloacted when the new router is plugged in it must be theoretically poassible to change it back to the old router. PLUS I know althoughu it breaks T&Cs you can use a different router altogether....so I don't get this.

      hmmm...
      Last edited by Sibling Chris; 15-10-08 at 02:49 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION