Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

    This is a discussion on HELP!!!Netgear V2 router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, firstly i would like to thank you everyone who helps out in these forums. I have just been connected ...

    1. #1
      tspoon's Avatar
      tspoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      Hello, firstly i would like to thank you everyone who helps out in these forums. I have just been connected to sky this month and i am having difficulty with the Netgear V2 router (Its rubbish). I would like to use my own netgear router, but i am finding it difficult to get my password. I have used James67 password generator but that doesnt seem to work. It may be associated with my serial which is 1NJ384BK0606A. Elsewhere in this forum the serial follows the following pattern 1NJ 3digits 2Letters and 3digits but my serial has extra characters at the end. Can someone please help me identify the password.

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      What is you gripe with the V2 router ? ?

    4. #3
      tspoon's Avatar
      tspoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      i just want to use the netger router i have its the DG834GT. my V2 router keeps disconnecting and also gets extremly slow at times

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      Try sending James a PM see if he can help. I wasn't aware Sky had changed the serial numbers.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      Quote Originally Posted by tspoon View Post
      i just want to use the netger router i have its the DG834GT. my V2 router keeps disconnecting and also gets extremly slow at times
      The disconnections are due to the AR7 chipset used in this router, which doesn't work nicely with DSLAMs. As a result, the router syncs slightly too high, and the SNRM is low and volatile.

      This is a problem that is widely publicised on the internet, but Sky don't want to offer any help.

    7. #6
      tspoon's Avatar
      tspoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      fnx alot 4 da help soo far guys

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Try sending James a PM see if he can help. I wasn't aware Sky had changed the serial numbers.
      MAC have also changed recently, starting 0022xxxxxxx
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      Quote Originally Posted by Sebby View Post
      The disconnections are due to the AR7 chipset used in this router, which doesn't work nicely with DSLAMs. As a result, the router syncs slightly too high, and the SNRM is low and volatile.

      This is a problem that is widely publicised on the internet, but Sky don't want to offer any help.
      I have a Netgear V2 on my connection at the moment, and have never suffered, what you describe.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6848 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 9 db

      Been connected for 73:11:00 (73 hours) and the only reason for the short time is, I rebooted it trying to kick the FW update off. (it didn't start btw)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      Wish I could say the same but since I queried the 'negative' Noise Margin Sky have locked me down to 4096mbps (from c.7000) and 14dB NM! Neither figures fluctuate like they did before I queried!
      I've pleaded with them to undo it but no response!

      This dramatic downturn in speed should be sufficient reason for me to terminate my contract early. I was getting significantly more speed from BT on an 'upto 8mbps' package. I would have expected Sky to match that!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: HELP!!!Netgear V2 router

      Are you sure you are using the correct MAC address. I think you are using the serial number of the router instead of the MAC address. These have 13 digits, MACs have 12. It should be the one shown under LAN Port opposite MAC Address. Copy and paste this from the router status page into the relevant box in James' utility.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION