Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

    This is a discussion on Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; What about this NM figure! Downstream/Upstream Connection Speed 6304 kbps/768 kbps Line Attenuation 48 db/13 db Noise Margin 2147483647 db/13 ...

    1. #1
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      What about this NM figure!


      Downstream/Upstream
      Connection Speed 6304 kbps/768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48 db/13 db
      Noise Margin 2147483647 db/13 db

      It happened last night too. Could it be that my NM is going below zero?
      It runs around 0 or 1 on an evening and around 7 or 8 during the day!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      Could be. I thought the bug was fixed but it must just be for the V1 router because the problem is apparent with your V2.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    4. #3
      Lajos's Avatar
      Lajos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      What about this NM figure!


      Downstream/Upstream
      Connection Speed 6304 kbps/768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48 db/13 db
      Noise Margin 2147483647 db/13 db

      It happened last night too. Could it be that my NM is going below zero?
      It runs around 0 or 1 on an evening and around 7 or 8 during the day!
      Hy!

      You need to restart the router. I got the same or 160Kbps upload speed after reboot.

    5. #4
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      Ah, another DG934G problem, and one that we see a lot. When are people going to see the trend?

    6. #5
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      Well Sky haven't seen it. I reported it via email and so far all I've got in return is my line capped at 4096mbps! That's a decrease of almost 3000mbps! WTF?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    7. #6
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      Yep, that's their "solution", when in fact the Sagem router - which uses a different chipset - would sort it. Apparently, they can't do that, though.

    8. #7
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      After I plead with Sky to undo their settings I think I'll just put my own Router onto it!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      After I plead with Sky to undo their settings I think I'll just put my own Router onto it!
      This, while against Sky T&C's, is the least painful solution and should always be tried before you contact Sky, or any other ISP, with a router problem.
      Last edited by Brian69; 13-10-08 at 05:38 PM.

    10. #9
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      I'll drink to that Brian!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    11. #10
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin reaches 10 digits!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      What about this NM figure!


      Downstream/Upstream
      Connection Speed 6304 kbps/768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48 db/13 db
      Noise Margin 2147483647 db/13 db

      It happened last night too. Could it be that my NM is going below zero?
      It runs around 0 or 1 on an evening and around 7 or 8 during the day!
      Many routers can't display negative numbers, so they end up displaying huge positive ones.

      If your SNR is varying wildly between night and day, try connecting your router directly to the socket which is revealed when you take your phone faceplate off. This should automatically disconnect all your extension wiring. If the SNR is much better from this socket, then the problem is probably with your house phone wiring - try removing the bell wire (the wire on terminal 3, usually orange) on all the phone sockets. After doing this, make sure that all your phones still ring (they should, if you are using modern phones and good quality ADSL filters). Better still, get a filtered faceplate, and connect your router directly to the ADSL output of that.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION