Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 60

    Activated today but unhappy with router

    This is a discussion on Activated today but unhappy with router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; so did you actually try your test socket?... regardless of having an XTE-2005 - they can go wrong you know... ...

    1. #31
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      so did you actually try your test socket?...

      regardless of having an XTE-2005 - they can go wrong you know...

      my Netgear goes to an SNR of 0, yet is rock solid...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It does not matter how you enter them in the generator, it will still work. Even caps are not necessary.
      It did make a differance for me, perhaps it's a sagem thing in the generator (you don't put the router serial number in, but the wireless key, so maybe it's a bit more sensitive about entries in general)

    4. #33
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      so did you actually try your test socket?...

      regardless of having an XTE-2005 - they can go wrong you know...

      my Netgear goes to an SNR of 0, yet is rock solid...
      Yep, tried the test socket. It's the Netgear; you've got an SNRM of 0dB... To me that's not right, and with another router, it would be different.

    5. #34
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      @Brian
      That's true, the details are generated differently in the V1 and V2 routers. With the V2 routers the details are not actually held in the router, but are generated when you connect. That could make a difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #35
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      @Brian
      That's true, the details are generated differently in the V1 and V2 routers. With the V2 routers the details are not actually held in the router, but are generated when you connect. That could make a difference.
      I remember when James came up with the generator, there was great importance put on entering info correctly (the network key is 8 capital letters, if it looks like a 1 it is an I, that sort of thing) So of course I did it wrong first time

      After I got it to work, and being an old fashioned sort of bloke, I printed it out and typed it in my Speedtouch with total sucess.

    7. #36
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      I generated my username and password incorrectly, so I've tried again tonight. I'm posting this using a 2Wire 2700HGV. And the stats are (and have been for a while):

      DSL Connection Details
      DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
      Protocol: G.DMT Annex A
      Downstream Rate: 4864 kbps
      Upstream Rate: 768 kbps
      Channel: Interleaved
      Current Noise Margin: 7.0 dB (Downstream) 13.0 dB (Upstream)
      Current Attenuation: 47.5 dB (Downstream) 30.0 dB (Upstream)
      Current Output Power: 19.1 dBm (Downstream) 11.2 dBm (Upstream)
      DSLAM Vendor Information: Country: {0xFF} Vendor: {GSPN} Specific: {0x800}
      PVC Info: 0/38

      Proof that it is the Netgear is unstable?

    8. #37
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      Yep, if you can connect with the 2-wire (and your line stats, while respectable, are nothing to write home about) then the netgear is clearly not for you.
      Your next problem is how to ensure you get a Sagem. As I understand it Sky dish out replacement routers with no regard to manufacturer, as far as they are concerned a V2 router is a V2 router no matter who makes it.
      If you are going to contact Sky again, don't do it with the 2-wire synced. I don't thing that Tier 1 can tell, but CST can and are liable to get a bit upset depending on who you speak to. The easiest way to get a new router (by that I mean a replacement, it will prob be a refurb) is to say that yours is totaly dead and just lie your way through the questions from Tier 1.
      The Sagem has a Broadcom chip set, or mine does anyway. Best of luck.

      If I were you, I would stick with the 2-wire I use a speedtouch for weeks at a time and have never had any comeback from Sky yet!! (having tempted fate today will be the day!!)
      Last edited by Brian69; 08-10-08 at 10:12 AM.

    9. #38
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      You will get a like for like swap out and there is no real way to demand a certain router. Is using the router you are getting those stats from not an option?

    10. #39
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      If you are going to contact Sky again, don't do it with the 2-wire synced. I don't thing that Tier 1 can tell, but CST can and are liable to get a bit upset depending on who you speak to. The easiest way to get a new router (by that I mean a replacement, it will prob be a refurb) is to say that yours is totaly dead and just lie your way through the questions from Tier 1.
      I don't mind if it's a refurb to be honest.

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      The Sagem has a Broadcom chip set, or mine does anyway. Best of luck.
      Thanks. Broadcom vs AR7... Hmm.

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      If I were you, I would stick with the 2-wire I use a speedtouch for weeks at a time and have never had any comeback from Sky yet!! (having tempted fate today will be the day!!)
      I'd much prefer to use the Sky router if at all possible, but if they won't listen to me, I'll have no choice but to use my own.

    11. #40
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Activated today but unhappy with router

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      You will get a like for like swap out and there is no real way to demand a certain router. Is using the router you are getting those stats from not an option?
      It is, but I'd prefer to use the Sky router.

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION