Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    New Sky router (934g) only has 2 usable .....

    This is a discussion on New Sky router (934g) only has 2 usable ..... within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; ..... Ethernet ports?????????? I have 3 devices that connect via Ethernet. What am I supposed to do now? I tried ...

    1. #1
      daver1974's Avatar
      daver1974 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry New Sky router (934g) only has 2 usable .....

      ..... Ethernet ports??????????
      I have 3 devices that connect via Ethernet.
      What am I supposed to do now?
      I tried using a 5 port network switch, but when it is plugged into the router, no connection can be made to the router by ANY of the devices.
      I never had this problem with the old 834gt (and it allowed the network switch)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky router (934g) only has 2 usable .....

      Did you try the ports? Don't believe the manual which says you can only use 2. I don't know why your switch does not work. You are using a straight through cable?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      daver1974's Avatar
      daver1974 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky router (934g) only has 2 usable .....

      Tried the other ports. They seem to work for now.
      Plugged back in the v1 (834gt) router to re-test the network switch.
      Typical. It's just out of warranty and burned out, just when changing the router. Grrrrrrr!!!!!!!
      Time to buy a new one.
      I'll update when I have tested new one.

    5. #4
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: New Sky router (934g) only has 2 usable .....

      I have the 934g modem/router and have used all four ports since day one.
      One port goes to my BT v2 HH which I use as an 'n' WAP & switch.
      No problems yet!
      Last edited by Ned Ludd; 05-10-08 at 07:27 PM.
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    6. #5
      daver1974's Avatar
      daver1974 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky router (934g) only has 2 usable .....

      New network switch installed and working.
      Now all three devices are connected by only 1 cable from the living room to my bedroom.
      Thanks for everyones help.

    7. #6
      tarsins's Avatar
      tarsins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanelli
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: New Sky router (934g) only has 2 usable .....

      I've just run an ethernet cable into my kids' bedroom to service their consoles and PC and I was just about to look for one of these switches. Do you mind if I ask which one you bought and how is it performing?
      --
      Steve

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION