Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Networked external HDD attached to router

    This is a discussion on Networked external HDD attached to router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have just bought a network hard-disk enclosure and am having problems getting it (with the HDD disk inserted I ...

    1. #1
      Viffer8's Avatar
      Viffer8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01895
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      That there London
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Networked external HDD attached to router

      I have just bought a network hard-disk enclosure and am having problems getting it (with the HDD disk inserted I hasten to add) to stay recognised as part of a network. If I connect the disk via USB I can see it in My Computer and access it without any problems at all.

      I have managed to get it to be recognised twice connected to the router using the ethernet cable but when I reboot/restart any one or more of the PC/router/disk or break the connection for any other reason I get an error message [The disk server has problems. Please run diagnosis]

      I initially thought it might be a firewall problem (I have ZA) and allowed the programme/software that I installed from the CD that came with the drive enclosure. May have simply been a coincudence but it connected and worked fine after that until...... I thought I had cracked it then but as soon as the connection was interrupted

      I have had a look on my Sky router (Netgear DG834GT) to see if there is anything I might need to input/adjust but there is nothing obvious ....... to me anyway

      I have XP SP3, an ethernet cable between the PC and the router, a work laptop that connects instantly with an "Excellent" signal. Not sure any of that is relevant but thought I'd mention it anyway just in case

      Has you/anyone got any ideas?

      Thanks very much in advance folks

      Alex


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Log in to the control pannel for the driver and disable an DHCP options. My NAS drive also had a DHCP which would clash with that of the router. I opted to assign each device a static IP address, including the NAS and its been working fine with only the odd re-boot !
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Is it a WD one by any chance?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      Viffer8's Avatar
      Viffer8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01895
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      That there London
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Is it a WD one by any chance?
      It is as it happens. I take that is significant

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      A WD MyBook World?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Viffer8's Avatar
      Viffer8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01895
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      That there London
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
      Log in to the control pannel for the driver and disable an DHCP options. My NAS drive also had a DHCP which would clash with that of the router. I opted to assign each device a static IP address, including the NAS and its been working fine with only the odd re-boot !
      I hope I have understood what you mean.

      I logged on to the router and unticked the "Use router as DHCP server] in LAN IP set up section. I clicked [Apply] and it made no difference. i.e. I still got the same erro message

      I then rebooted the router and that made no difference either


    8. #7
      Viffer8's Avatar
      Viffer8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01895
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      That there London
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      A WD MyBook World?
      Nope

      It is an old 40Gb HDD that I put in a network disk enclosure. The enclosure is an Xpress ME747K-SI that I got from Maplin's

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      That rules out my involvement then. I just got one from PCW for 44 because the old man on the till must have confused that is was 44 discount from 164 to make it 120 and not 120 discount to make it 44

      And then PCW wonder why they make no money.

      If it had been that drive, I could have helped you out, as I have had nothing but trouble setting it up, however now sorted.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Viffer8's Avatar
      Viffer8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01895
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      That there London
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Quote Originally Posted by malc-c View Post
      Log in to the control pannel for the driver and disable an DHCP options. My NAS drive also had a DHCP which would clash with that of the router. I opted to assign each device a static IP address, including the NAS and its been working fine with only the odd re-boot !
      Stop Press

      I have just found a tab in options for the driver and it says the [Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC #2 - Packet Scheduler Miniport] DHCP is Enabled but there appears to be no way of changing that

    11. #10
      Viffer8's Avatar
      Viffer8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01895
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      That there London
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      That rules out my involvement then. I just got one from PCW for 44 because the old man on the till must have confused that is was 44 discount from 164 to make it 120 and not 120 discount to make it 44

      And then PCW wonder why they make no money.

      If it had been that drive, I could have helped you out, as I have had nothing but trouble setting it up, however now sorted.
      You jammy bugger

      Thanks anyway

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION