Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Networked external HDD attached to router

    This is a discussion on Networked external HDD attached to router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Have you tried this - Plug it into the PC using the USB, look in Control Panel>Network. If it appears ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Have you tried this - Plug it into the PC using the USB, look in Control Panel>Network. If it appears there right click it and open the Properties. Look there for a way to disable the DHCP and give it a fixed address, say 192.168.0.254.

      If it does not appear using the USB, try plugging it into the PC using ethernet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Quote Originally Posted by Viffer8 View Post
      I hope I have understood what you mean.

      I logged on to the router and unticked the "Use router as DHCP server] in LAN IP set up section. I clicked [Apply] and it made no difference. i.e. I still got the same erro message

      I then rebooted the router and that made no difference either

      Err not quite. I was refering to the Controller for the network disk.

      I purchased a disk enclousre (not from maplin) and installed a 160GB IDE drive. The enclosure has an embedded interface that can be accessed in much the same way as you access your sky router. Its in this control pannel that you need to disable DHCP NOT the sky router. This is assuming that your enclosure supports the same functions as mine does, so its worth checking the little leaflet that came with the enclosure

      On my network - I disabled DHCP in the sky router and then configured each PC (I have 4 in the house to save arguments with the kids ) to use a static IP - I then did the same in my NAS (hence the 192.168.0.105 you see in the screen capture).

      The problem I had was that by default the enclosure enabled its own DHCP contoller which provided a different LAN address, so it didn't appear on the same network to the PC's, and confused the hell out of the PC's when they tried renewing their IP addresses - using static IP addressing resolved this ( once I figured out how to disable the controller in the NAS drive
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Networked external HDD attached to router-interface.jpg  
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    4. #13
      Viffer8's Avatar
      Viffer8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01895
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      That there London
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Have you tried this - Plug it into the PC using the USB, look in Control Panel>Network. If it appears there right click it and open the Properties. Look there for a way to disable the DHCP and give it a fixed address, say 192.168.0.254.

      If it does not appear using the USB, try plugging it into the PC using ethernet.
      Found the MAC address for it and configured the router to give it a specific IP address in the range. Also set it to give the desktop PC a different fixed IP to avoid a conflict. That didnae work either

      Solution ..... took the fecker back to the shop and got a refund.

      Thanks for the suggestion though

    5. #14
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Quote Originally Posted by Viffer8 View Post

      Solution ..... took the fecker back to the shop and got a refund.

      Thanks for the suggestion though
      You gave up too soon...

      Assuming you get another, who'sto say you won't have a similar issue if that too has a built in DHCP controller

      Hopefully if you still opt for a NAS drive, it will be plug and play
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    6. #15
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Not knowing the Sky router I don't know if this is significant.
      BT routers all have USB ports. Attaching an external drive to them requires that the drive be formatted FAT32!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    7. #16
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Geoff, its the same with the NAS drive I have. The control panel has the option to format the drive without the need to format the drive in a PC first.
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    8. #17
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      Yup Malcom! Over at the BT Home Hub forum you'd be amazed at the number of folk that have formatted their external drive to NTFS and then find that the Home Hub can't find it! In fact, it wont find ANY drive until, and unless, it IS formatted FAT32.
      But, I'm not on Sky BB yet (due in about 14 days) so have no experience of their routers so I thought I'd just chuck that one in.

      Me, I use a Netgear SC101 SAN jobbie with 2 internal IDE drives!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    9. #18
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Networked external HDD attached to router

      It's interesting to hear that the BT router has a USB port, so I guess its like a print server / shared device.

      Its a shame the original poster returned his drive, it would of been nice if we could of resolved his issue as maybe this could of helped others in the future.
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION