Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Can't get online

    This is a discussion on Can't get online within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I don't know if I installed sky broadband correctly, I connected everything up correctly, I put the sky install cd ...

    1. #1
      Juandan's Avatar
      Juandan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't get online

      I don't know if I installed sky broadband correctly, I connected everything up correctly, I put the sky install cd into cd-rom drive, sky install cd started ok, but the scoll bars on the bottom of the window never changed, it stayed on the same bar, I think there is 4 scroll bars, I assume its supposed to scoll along one bar then onto the next one and so on at the end it says finish,
      but as I say it just stayed on the first bar, so I got back to my desktop and activated the norton 90 free trail, norton wanted to update and went online and updated so I was online I didn't know it, but thats it I can't get online now, so did install it ok?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't get online

      Was the Norton trial on the CD? I thought they only used McAfee.

      Norton will almost certainly be your problem. Go to the Add/Remove and uninstall it. After that make sure your router is plugged into the power and phone and connected to your PC by the yellow cable. Re-boot your PC and when it is running, click the blue IE icon on your desktop. You will now be connected and can install AV etc. I would advise against Norton as it does not appear to be user friendly and causes lots of problems. There are plenty of free alternatives available.

      Don't run the CD on any machines it is not required.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Can't get online

      Sounds like norton already on pc and is probably blocking the network as sky only supply a 12 month mcafee trial.

    5. #4
      Juandan's Avatar
      Juandan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get online

      Thanks for the prompt reply, when I ran the sky install cd it didn't give me an option to install McAfee I only got to the first stage, the laptop I'm using is new it didn't have any anti-virus on it, on the laptops desktop I could see norton 90 day free trial I didn want to use norton but I thought I need some anti-virus before I try and get online
      I'll take your advice and uninstall norton but don't I need A/V before I try to go online?

    6. #5
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get online

      Step 1, uninstall Norton.
      Step 2, connect to router with ethernet.
      Step 3, get Avast free anti virus from here.
      Step 4, also get free Superantispyware from here.
      Step 5, Get Firefox 3 instead of Internet Explorer from here.

      That will do you for starters.

    7. #6
      Juandan's Avatar
      Juandan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get online

      Thanks guys, yes norton was the problem, I uninstalled it and was online in no time.
      Thanks again much appreciated

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION