Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

    This is a discussion on can i connect a cable router with sky broadband????? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi everyone, i m a total noob with this broadband stuff. i really like the new netgear's WNR854T because of ...

    1. #1
      alithegreat's Avatar
      alithegreat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      hi everyone,
      i m a total noob with this broadband stuff. i really like the new netgear's
      WNR854T because of its gigabit lan ports but its a cable, dsl router. The only reason i want to upgrade is because of the laggy connection whenever i m playing on xbox live.

      So plz tell me a step by step guide of how i can connect a cable router with sky's current router

      THNX IN ADVANCE


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      Are you on ethernet or lan? Also are you sure the lag is caused by the router?

    4. #3
      alithegreat's Avatar
      alithegreat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      ethernet i guess. i m not sure.
      anyway my xbox is connected to the router wirelessly and i have heard that wnr854t has a new n technology which would improve gaming i guess. i also watch movies which are stored in my computer on xbox 360 through my home network but using this router i am not able to view hd movies.

      plzzz help me out with this problem i m really fed up with laggy connection while playing in xbox live

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      What you have is a router, it will work with the Sky router, if connected by ethernet cable. You cannot connect it direct to the Internet as it does not have a Modem. If you want to try this, do the following -


      Enter the primary router LAN settings and change the last figure in DHCP server to 253 from 254 (This may not be strictly necessary, but it keeps things nice and tidy)


      Enter the settings of the secondary router using the routers default address, which will depend on its make. (Netgear 192.168.0.1)

      Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router (255.255.255.0) with an address of 192.168.0.254.
      Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.
      It is easier doing this by having it in the position you want to use it and connected to the PC you want to use.

      Setup the wireless section with the same settings the primary router.

      Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. Remember it must be connected by an Ethernet cable which can be up to 100m long.

      If you have followed this correctly, you should be able to enter the Primary routers settings and in the Attached Devices section, you should see that the Secondary router is shown with the 254 address and the PC attached to it should be shown with a different address. You should also be able to see the Secondary routers settings by typing http://192.168.0.254/ in the address bar of any PC attached to the network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Qwakrz's Avatar
      Qwakrz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ivybridge
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      The slowest part of your connection is currently the wireless bit.

      Wireless is terrible for introducing lag, I frequently get pings of 30-40ms using wireless to connect to a server that is in the same building I am. Wired always reports <1ms as it is literally feet from me.

      Try a network cable instead of wireless and you should notice a speed improvement. Also stop any downloads that are going on else where on your network connection as they will also slow down response times.

      If this image is not here, my net connection has gone down.. Please hit it with a hammer

    7. #6
      alithegreat's Avatar
      alithegreat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      What you have is a router, it will work with the Sky router, if connected by ethernet cable. You cannot connect it direct to the Internet as it does not have a Modem. If you want to try this, do the following -


      Enter the primary router LAN settings and change the last figure in DHCP server to 253 from 254 (This may not be strictly necessary, but it keeps things nice and tidy)


      Enter the settings of the secondary router using the routers default address, which will depend on its make. (Netgear 192.168.0.1)

      Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router (255.255.255.0) with an address of 192.168.0.254.
      Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.
      It is easier doing this by having it in the position you want to use it and connected to the PC you want to use.

      Setup the wireless section with the same settings the primary router.

      Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. Remember it must be connected by an Ethernet cable which can be up to 100m long.

      If you have followed this correctly, you should be able to enter the Primary routers settings and in the Attached Devices section, you should see that the Secondary router is shown with the 254 address and the PC attached to it should be shown with a different address. You should also be able to see the Secondary routers settings by typing http://192.168.0.254/ in the address bar of any PC attached to the network.
      thnx for ur reply, can u tell if its worth spending my 70 pounds will it improve the speed or wireless performance

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      If you really need wireless then it would be better spending a few pounds more on a Draft N Modem Router. Although this is against the T &Cs, if you don't ask for support from Sky when using it, you should be OK. An ethernet connection will be more stable than wireless and although it may require some extra cabling, it would be far cheaper. Powerline or Homeplug networking is also a good solution, giving you the advantage of ethernet without the wires, but may cost 40-50 to set up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      alithegreat's Avatar
      alithegreat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      can u plz name some draft n modem routers that would improve the performance

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      I am a bit reluctant to lead you down the Draft N path, for two main reasons. The Draft part means just that, it may not conform to the final specification, which means it may not be compatible with future products. Secondly cost, at the moment a quality Draft N router will cost from about 80 upwards. To that, if you want it to perform at its best, you have to add a Draft N adapter for each of your machines, which at the moment cost 40-50 each. This a not inconsiderable investment in something that may still not perform as well as you would like.

      I would recommend that you have a look at Homeplug Networking it can be as fast as N wireless with none of it's problems. Several forum members use this system and I don't think any have found it a failure. If you are a laptop user there are types which act like a wireless bridge, bring the wireless into the room where you are working/playing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      alithegreat's Avatar
      alithegreat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i connect a cable router with sky broadband?????

      can any1 plz send me a step by step guide which explains everything the guide by isitime worked for wired connections but not for wireless.

      anyway, i cudnt change the ip address 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.0.254 coz it said that this will interfere with the WANIP or something. So plz can u send me a guide that will work with the wireless as well and plz explain everything as i m really bad with this wireless stuff

      thnx in advance

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION