Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 33

    My Internet from sky - please help!

    This is a discussion on My Internet from sky - please help! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; So, to start i recently just moved from bt broadband which was perfect for me to sky broadband, i got ...

    1. #1
      Nemi01's Avatar
      Nemi01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      london
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Internet from sky - please help!

      So, to start i recently just moved from bt broadband which was perfect for me to sky broadband, i got the unlimited package which is 16mb i believe.. and i ran a speed test from google and got 8000+kbs which i believe is good.as a upload and 600+ for download. so im happy with that Though im 100% im not getting that sort of performance.

      My router 2-3 times a day will shut off the internet and restart the router at first it did this by the green light for internet on the modem would go orange then take minutes to restart... or i could manually do it by unplugin it. now its got worse the green lights just goes off and i have to do it manually... then sometimes if i turn my ps3/360 on this will make it disconnect and reconnect. and sometimes if i try even stream a youtube video i would have to wait a hour for a 3 minute vido to load, yet others it will load in seconds. anyone know why this is or what i can do...

      my router is NETGEAR DG934G i think.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!

      Please post stats from the router, these will help with any diagnosis.


    4. #3
      Nemi01's Avatar
      Nemi01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      london
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Please post stats from the router, these will help with any diagnosis.
      how do i post stats, i never have done before sorry, thanks.

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!

      Follow this guide to posting router stats, good luck.

      SkyUser - Router Stats V2


    6. #5
      Nemi01's Avatar
      Nemi01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      london
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!

      Router Status
      Firmware Version V2.02.34
      ADSL Port
      MAC Address removed by admin
      IP Address removed by admin
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.254.51
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99
      LAN Port
      MAC Address removed by admin
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 6.02.01.00
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 3599 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38
      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) removed by admin
      Region Europe
      Channel 11
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 02-08-08 at 02:54 PM. Reason: removed personal data

    7. #6
      dt101187's Avatar
      dt101187 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!

      ur line may not be able to support the full 16Mb may be training higher than wat it can handle causeing the drop outs or u may be using the black netgear or ur physical set up is wrong in either case u have to contact sky.

    8. #7
      Nemi01's Avatar
      Nemi01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      london
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!

      Quote Originally Posted by dt101187 View Post
      ur line may not be able to support the full 16Mb may be training higher than wat it can handle causeing the drop outs or u may be using the black netgear or ur physical set up is wrong in either case u have to contact sky.
      i have the black netgear yeah, and how do i update it ? thanks alot

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!

      Hold on a minute, there are a few things to be done before you phone Sky. If everyone that came here for help was told that there would not be much point in posting.

      First post your stats, by clicking the Statistics button on your router page and copy and paste here. Only the connection speed, attenuation and noise margin are required.

      Then have a look and see if you have a NTE-5 socket with a joint across the front. If you do, remove the faceplate and plug the router into the socket behind it. Post the stats from there and from your normal position for comparison. If you have a BT ADSL faceplate, remove it and plug one of the filters supplied into the socket and then the router. At this stage it does not matter whether you use wireless or ethernet.

      If you do not have an NTE-5 socket, post back for further instructions.
      Last edited by Isitme; 02-08-08 at 04:04 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Nemi01's Avatar
      Nemi01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      london
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!





      2 print screens of jsut now...

      im not to sure i dont believe i have the port that your speaking of..
      Last edited by Nemi01; 02-08-08 at 04:22 PM.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Internet from sky - please help!

      Your line is syncing as high as it can (3599) with your line conditions, which is very low for your attenuation. You are on ADSL2+ and with a good line could get 12-14Mbs, about 4 times faster than you are getting.

      Check again if you have an NTE-5 socket, if you have it will be the first one on the phone line into your house. It is important that we establish this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION