Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault?

    This is a discussion on My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; The website SHIELDSUP show that I can be Pinged and my ICP never changes. (talk about advertise!) Although my Mcafee ...

    1. #1
      djjerryatric's Avatar
      djjerryatric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01375
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited - that's a laugh!
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      grays, essex
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault?

      The website SHIELDSUP show that I can be Pinged and my ICP never changes. (talk about advertise!) Although my Mcafee ping tickbox is unchecked (meaning I don't WANT to be pinged) Macafee say Sky is at fault.
      Are they? If so, what can I do?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault?

      McAfee can only turn off ping response on your local IP address (i.e. 192.168.0.x).

      If you want to turn if off on your internet IP address you do it in the router. On the white router it's under WAN setup.

      What's an ICP?

    4. #3
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault?

      to stop yourself from being pinged, go into the routers configuration page, under advanced, uncheck respond to ping from internet WAN port

      Quote Originally Posted by moleman View Post
      What's an ICP?
      not sure either... according to google its...well... an Insane Clown Posse ...

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault?

      Respond to Ping is enabled by default on the Sky router, probably to allow diagnostics from Sky support. As mentioned, turn it off in the router by unticking the box. Remote management is also enabled by default. If you use Shieldsup to do a probe on port 8080, you will find the port is open. You should probably turn off Remote Management for greater security.

      Your IP will normally change if you reboot or powercycle the router. Doing a Sky Test on the router will also sometimes change the IP. The 'Machine address' referred to in Shieldsup is associated with the address and not your machine.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      djjerryatric's Avatar
      djjerryatric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01375
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited - that's a laugh!
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      grays, essex
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault?

      Thanks for all your advice people. I've unchecked the router ping box. My IP is now different than when I accessed a particular website before, Shieldsup says I'm in stealth mode but I'm still getting this particular website identifying my hometown within minutes of accessing the website. Is there anything else I can do to foil them?

    7. #6
      dt101187's Avatar
      dt101187 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault?

      wen u connect to a web site they know ur ip address not hard to trace it after tht
      u rrouter wont respond to ping but tht doesnt mean a ping wont get to the router.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My PING and ICP footprint- Sky's fault?

      If you really want to hide your IP address, using a proxy server is one way. Read about it Here

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION