Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router has renamed it's self ?

    This is a discussion on Router has renamed it's self ? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi... I have been with Sky Max for years now but something odd has happened recently. My router SSID code/key ...

    1. #1
      loser40's Avatar
      loser40 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Router has renamed it's self ?

      Hi...

      I have been with Sky Max for years now but something odd has happened recently.

      My router SSID code/key has changed slightly - to be exact it's only the last digit, and I'm 99.99% certain I didn't change it.

      How can this happen ?

      TIA,

      Mark.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router has renamed it's self ?

      I don't think it can. Either you have changed it, maybe by accident, or someone else has. The original SSID will be printed on the router. Did you give it a unique name, ie changed it from the default SKY****? If not, you should do. You do have encryption enable? You do use the wireless?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Router has renamed it's self ?

      This has been hapening a lot lately it could be something to do with late firmware updates for the v1 i have never had a v2 router with this problem before because we have had a lot of wireless calls because of this issue.

    5. #4
      loser40's Avatar
      loser40 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router has renamed it's self ?

      jonny - I figured it may be due to the firmware update, but it's strange none the less.
      M.

    6. #5
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Router has renamed it's self ?

      is this due to the security flaw that James found out that if you knew somebodies SSID you in theory could hack the router.

      I wonder if changing the default SSID is to change that situation?
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router has renamed it's self ?

      I have to doubt that it has to do with the newer firmware. If it did then hundreds of thousands would have been effected, obviously, this is not the case. Apart from this, the new firmware was being tested when James discovered the flaw, making such a basic change would have thrown the release date even further back. Unless of course, Sky were already aware of the flaw.

      I still don't know whether it is the SSID or the encryption phrase that is being referred to.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION