Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Vista woes.

    This is a discussion on Vista woes. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Ok, so my laptop fried itself last night and I was forced to buy a new one. Unfortunately, this means ...

    1. #1
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Vista woes.

      Ok, so my laptop fried itself last night and I was forced to buy a new one.
      Unfortunately, this means I have now got to use Vista instead of Xp. So anyway, I set it all up, went to connect to the Sky Netgear V1 router (wirelessly), and was asked to input a network key.
      I did this, but was informed that the key should be either 5 or 13 characters long, not the 8 character key that Sky provide.
      Am I missing something really simple here, as I don't want to mess around too much on an operating system that feels completely alien to me at the moment.

      EDIT: I have had to disable security to connect so I need to what I've done wrong!
      Last edited by x LAGER LOUT x; 07-07-08 at 12:25 AM. Reason: Added to.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Vista woes.

      meh, this old chestnut...

      tbh, I never had this issue with my Vista PCs but the fact it works with wireless security disabled means that it does work so try it with WEP and if that works set a new WPA key and see if that works too...

      might be worth a google too...

      EDIT: quick google highlights driver issues but nothing specific...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Vista woes.

      Poxy thing wont work with WEP either, looks like i'm stuck with no security and turning off SSID broadcast.

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Vista woes.

      I'm running Vista Home Premium and can connect to my Sky WiFi without a problem.

      Go to Control Panel > Network and Sharing Centre

      Select the Wireless Connection and then Wireless Properties

      Click on the Security tab

      Select WPA-Personal
      Select Encryption TKIP
      Enter the Sky supplied WiFi key

      That should fix it.
      Last edited by dms05; 07-07-08 at 09:47 AM.

    6. #5
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Vista woes.

      Have a virtual beer of your choice, god knows why it wouldn't work before as I tried those very same settings but it's working now. Cheers!

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Vista woes.

      welcome to the world of Vista...once you get your head around it it's a nice place to be...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Vista woes.

      I'll reserve judgement on the benefits of Vista for the time being

    9. #8
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Vista woes.

      I've been there with Vista and the Sky V1 router -- the problem is that MS have changed the terminology used to describe the various wireless security types.

      When installing a new Vista laptop to an existing network of XP machines running WEP, I was sufficiently confused that I abandoned WEP and switched to WPA. Annoying as I had to retire the old 802.11b adapter on another machine -- but it was simpler than shouting at the laptop.

      Welcome to the world of Vista -- to get away from which users are paying extra to downgrade to XP.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION