Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    connection only available via test socket

    This is a discussion on connection only available via test socket within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; my sky connection suddenly started asking for a password to connect to websites also the @ symbol was no longer ...

    1. #1
      computrix's Avatar
      computrix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      connection only available via test socket

      my sky connection suddenly started asking for a password to connect to websites also the @ symbol was no longer lit.

      i'm connecting wireless through a sagem router. i went through to sky who talked me through checking the connections, filters, resetting the router etc etc. they advised me to plug the filter into the test socket rather than the master socket and the connection was then ok. however because i'm connecting through the test socket rather than the master socket my other telephone extentions therefore don't work. so i either have the internet access or an extention upstairs.

      if i phone sky they say its a bt fault and if i phone sky they say its sky fault.

      can anyone advise please.
      Last edited by computrix; 06-07-08 at 08:15 PM. Reason: additional info


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: connection only available via test socket

      If it works in the test socket it points to an internal wiring issue if it then drops when the faceplate is back on. How many extensions on the line in use and are there filters on them?

    4. #3
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: connection only available via test socket

      sounds like a faulty face plate

      BT problem
      have you tried changing the filter, faulty filter could also give same results

    5. #4
      computrix's Avatar
      computrix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection only available via test socket

      yes if i plug filter with phone and router connected to it into the master socket the connection drops - phone is still ok though.

      i have 1 extention upstairs with sky tv filter plugged in.

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: connection only available via test socket

      Who wired the extension onto the main socket?

    7. #6
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: connection only available via test socket

      if problem just started then it sounds like filter
      try adsl nation filtered face plate try ADSL Nation - XTE-2005 - Filtered Master Faceplate

      this will not interfere with extensions

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION