Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Leaving Sky - can I still use router?

    This is a discussion on Leaving Sky - can I still use router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm leaving Sky. Am I going to be able to use my Sky modem/router (white Netgear version) with a new ...

    1. #1
      Jonnymex's Avatar
      Jonnymex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207498 - Nine elms
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Leaving Sky - can I still use router?

      I'm leaving Sky. Am I going to be able to use my Sky modem/router (white Netgear version) with a new ISP. I can't see how to get to those settings.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Leaving Sky - can I still use router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Jonnymex View Post
      I'm leaving Sky. Am I going to be able to use my Sky modem/router (white Netgear version) with a new ISP. I can't see how to get to those settings.
      yes you will need to unlock it tho...

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Leaving Sky - can I still use router?

      Most isp's will provide new subscribers with a new router.


    5. #4
      Jonnymex's Avatar
      Jonnymex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207498 - Nine elms
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Leaving Sky - can I still use router?

      Thanks - I'd get a free wired modem, but not a wireless one so would like to use existing. How do you unlock it?

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Leaving Sky - can I still use router?

      Hi Jonny

      You would need to flash the router with the Netgear FW - have a read of the technical forum, it's all there.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Jonnymex's Avatar
      Jonnymex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207498 - Nine elms
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Leaving Sky - can I still use router?

      Thanks all, have now succeeded. There's so much in the technical forum that I couldn't find what I needed (though I know it's there - saw it before). Found this brilliant guide that even I could follow, though. Highly recommended to anyone with the same problem: Sky Router DG834GT Unlock JJClements.co.uk

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Leaving Sky - can I still use router?

      You were actually very lucky. There are dozens of reports on the forum from members who have failed due to compatibility issues with their network card. Ways were found to work around this and I think most have now succeeded. The form tutorial, which is probably easier to read than the one you found, can be found HERE

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION