Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    installing SAGEM

    This is a discussion on installing SAGEM within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi sorry if this question has been raised before but, i am currently enlisted with another ISP (Plus.net) and have ...

    1. #1
      plesh's Avatar
      plesh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation installing SAGEM

      Hi sorry if this question has been raised before but, i am currently enlisted with another ISP (Plus.net) and have been transferred to Sky Midi Package.

      I have recieved the SAGEM router that sky send. I have not been able to access my current isp (plus.net) due to the fact i have just bought a new pc (vista) so my old modem does not work with this.

      I was wondering is it possible for me to use the Sky router to connect to the old isp (plus.net) while i wait for Sky Broadband to take over as my ISP. I have tried installing the router but i am recieving an AMBER light on the modem.

      P.S does it matter if i use different microfilters with differnet modems?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: installing SAGEM

      No, the Sky router is hardcoded with the Username and Password for your Sky connection.

      When are you due for connection to Sky?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      plesh's Avatar
      plesh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: installing SAGEM

      1 weeks time, on the 8th. I understand it not being a long time but really could do with access to the internet in the mean time.

    5. #4
      plesh's Avatar
      plesh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: installing SAGEM

      I was also promised a Netgear router and recieved the SAGEM, is there much difference in quality?

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: installing SAGEM

      I have both and tbh use the Sagem all the time. The only real difference is a slightly different GUI for the Wireless - performance wise, both as good as each other. The Sagem has an issue with some VPN, but I believe the new FW for it will sort that out, when it arrives.

      Can you not borrow a router or a modem? I have a spare non Sky Netgear DG834GT if you are really stuck, to borrow.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      plesh's Avatar
      plesh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: installing SAGEM

      Ah well thats not the best as I have a VPN at home to connect to my companys network. Im sure they might send me the NETGEAR one. That would be v kind, wouldnt want to put you out though. Its a shame i don't really see the point in buying another modem as well for the next week :s.

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: installing SAGEM

      Quote Originally Posted by plesh View Post
      i have just bought a new pc (vista) so my old modem does not work with this.
      can i ask why your router does not work with your new PC ?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: installing SAGEM

      The VPN does work on certain clients, and there are a few workarounds posted on here somewhere.

      Send me a PM with your address if you want to use it, I can't post it till tomorrow, as I have other commitments today, but you should get it on Wednesday.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION