Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

    This is a discussion on Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Guys (& Gals), I have only just recently signed up to Sky Broadband MID but have been so far ...

    1. #1
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      Hi Guys (& Gals),

      I have only just recently signed up to Sky Broadband MID but have been so far disappointed with the service.

      After doing a number of line checks etc...I came to the conclusion I could get speeds of around 4Mbps but I have so far not reached over 1.7Mbps using speedtest.net. (Bear in mind I am paying for the MID service, if I had known this was all I would get I would have taken the free option).

      First question, do I have a cause for a line complaint or Sky complaint?

      Secondly this crappy Sagem router freezes most evenings (requiring a reboot) and also the DSL line/light seems to drop quite frequently. Does anyone have any ideas?

      Thanks in advance.

      Jamie


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      you will need to post you stats for anyone to comment on what speed your line may be up to.

      you may also want to have a look at the first link in my siag and post some nore stats from the "test" socket.

      with all the above someone may be able to advise on the next move you can make

      as to the package you are on 5 for miod is not to bad regardless of the speed you end up with, is has a 40gb per month limit (which does not at the moment seem to be problem if you go over it)

      on the Base package which is free, the max speed is 2meg and the download limit is pretty low (cannot remember what it is)

    4. #3
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      Hi Richone,

      Thanks for your reply, I will have a look into removing the faceplate and testing the master socket and report back any findings.

      I will also report back my basic stats when I get home.

      In terms of cost, while I agree 5 isn't a massive sum of money. I don't agree with having to reboot the router daily.

      Thanks

      Jamie

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Jj Carnon View Post

      I don't agree with having to reboot the router daily.
      I would think we will be able to help with the dropouts (there were lots of others with the same problem / problems, i would say at least 90% had been fixed with little help on here)

    6. #5
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      Sooooooo. After doing numerous things last night including removing all items connected to the phone socket, disabling uPnP, going through Ethernet instead of Wireless. (I couldn't remove the faceplate in my flat). I decided to try a different router. I searched around the Sky Sagem router to try and find my username and password to use on the new router but couldn't. I phoned Sky asking for these details, they don't have them?!

      I explained the issues I was having....... long story short, it turns out my line had some errors on it, they cleared them only for them to re-appear. For the line to work ok without errors they had to reduce the speed of the line to 1Mbs.... I am 1600 meters away from the exchange!!

      They then told me I would have to wait for them to upgrade the exchange (apparently they are doing this on all exchanges soon) to have any quicker speed?

      What a crock!

      J

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      Get onto the test socket if you have one or the main socket with nothing else on the line and post a set of stats. If Sky are seeing errors then either you have issues on your line or there is something wrong somewhere to make it drop that low at that distance.

    8. #7
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      Hi Skypaul,

      Thanks for your response. I am afraid I may not be able to get to the test socket or master socket. I live in a 1st floor flat and the only phone connection (built in to the wall, along with Sat1 and Sat2 for my Sky plus, aerial connections and power sockets) doesn't appear to be a standard one. I would say it is only 1inch wide and 2 inches in legnth (top to bottom) with a single phone connection. I can't remove the front of it to see if there is a socket underneath, but it doesn't look likely.

      This is all I have. Any ideas?

      Cheers

      J

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      There will be a master somewhere. Is there a blank plate with a line across the centre anywhere?
      If you cannot find one, then you need to speak to BT and get one fitted.

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      Sounds like the contractor took a few shortcuts too many to be honest. You may need to do as suggested and get BT to send an engineer in. Do you hear any noise on the line at all while you are using it?

    11. #10
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speeds, Line Dropouts & Frozen Router

      I don't hear any noise on the line, although it is quite quiet. I will post a picture of the socket I have when I get home, then you can see what I am talking about!

      If I get BT to install a brand new box is that going to cost me the bloody earth?!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION